Posted by: illinigirl | June 27, 2008

Audience Participation: Songs that make you wanna DANCE

Come on, people. . . K-JO needs your help.

You see, K-JO is getting married in the not-so-distant future.  He’s asked me for some music suggestions for his wedding, and I am HAPPY to give some suggestions.  My sister and I made a lengthy spreadsheet for her wedding. . . which conveniently, neither of us can locate!

I’m going to give my suggestions (which are mainly observations from Todd’s events and stuff that my family loves to dance to).  Kevin will hate most of my list, as my family enjoys dancing to oldies. . . so this is a must at  our weddings.  I’m leaving some songs off simply because I think that they are our family favorites. . . and are not entirely mainstream.  I get bored with some of the *standard* stuff though.  I personally feel that the music for my sister’s wedding ROCKED. . . but that would be because they only played two songs that weren’t on our list.  Yes, the D.J. probably hated me as we didn’t leave him any artistic freedom!

Here are a few of my suggestions:

 

  • Don’t Stop Believin  (DUH, no brainer there)
  • Shout
  • Runaround Sue–Dion
  • Jump in the Line–Harry Belafonte (if you need a congo line, this kicks “Hot, Hot, Hot’s BUTT)
  • Boogie Shoes
  • Paradise by the Dashboard Lights
  • Sweet Caroline
  • Pour Some Sugar on Me
  • I Want You Back–Jackson 5
  • Your Love–The Outfield
  • Brown-Eyed Girl

 

 

I will keep thinking. . . but add in any songs you like to dance to!!!

And NO K-JO, I will not be doing any line dancing. . . unless it’s an electric slide where others are willing to join in!


Responses

  1. not the chicken dance. i hate the chicken dance.

  2. some of these ideas might suck for your group, so you just have to analyze them based upon your needs. but all of them have met with success at several weddings that i have attended.

    american pie, but this might only be a loda tradition.

    funky cold medina

    shook me all night long

    summer of 69

    footloose (usually almost always a crowd pleaser)

    seperate ways – journey

    jessie’s girl

    time for me to fly – reo

    do you love me – the contours

    bohemian rhapsody

    sweet home alabama (very crowd depedent)

    piano man – billy joel

    pretty woman

    bennie and the jets

    cecelia

    old time rock and roll

    stand by me and/or lean on me

    twist and shout

    rocky top (EXTREMELY crowd dependent, yet highly rewarding in the right crowd)

    faith – george michael

    i want you to want me

    thank god im a country boy

  3. LOL We cut our cake to “Pour Some Sugar on Me.”

  4. “I used to love her (but I had to kill her)” by Guns N Roses. Completely inappropriate but will get a good laugh. Some old people might leave.

  5. queenlizzle–Those are some great suggestions.

    I’m struggling with the crowd as well. Lizzle and I always suggest that you “play to the crowd” and always made that a priority when requesting song on the jukebox. Just because YOU like a song, doesn’t mean it’s right for the establishment OR the crowd.

    I’m afraid that K-JO’s wedding crowd might be considerably more upscale than what I usually work with (no offense to the people that I normally “wedding” with. . . I’m right there with you!). . .

    K-JO, hopefully you have some worthy suggestions here!

  6. Also, no American Pie is an everywhere tradition.

  7. For “upscale” I say add some swing music… who doesn’t love to Swing? Brian Setzer should do the trick.

    Oh, and somewhat unrelated… check out this list of 14 songs to Never Play in a Bar:

    http://www.holytaco.com/2008/06/17/14-songs-you-should-never-play-in-a-bar/

    I actually *like* most of the songs, but the commentary is hilarious!

  8. This is awesome! Thanks…


Leave a comment

Categories