Posted by: illinigirl | February 12, 2012

Memories of the pink jambox. . .

Yes, my sis and I LOVED Whitney as a kid.  LOVED.  Her cassette tapes were probably the most frequently played on my pink and Sarah’s purple little tape players.

The time that she was really getting popular. . . happened to be the time my sis and I were OBSESSED with MTV and VH1 and literally watched it all summer long (pretty much all day). . . and yes, this was the time when these shows played nothing but videos.

I was completely hooked with “How Will I Know” and “I Wanna Dance With Somebody”. . . They were such fun videos to watch as kids (lots of dramatics and costume changes), her voice was amazing, and she was so beautiful.

I loved so many of her songs. . . and have forgotten about so many of them until I heard them on TV and the radio today.  You could often hear me belting her tunes from the shower in the 80’s and 90’s.  (I will admit that her voice was slightly better than mine though.)  😉

I think I need to download some of her old stuff so I can sing along with her on my trip back to Illinois next weekend. . . RIP to one of my 80’s favorites.  Hearing her stuff takes me back to being a kid on the swingset with my pink jambox.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

