Posted by: illinigirl | January 22, 2012

It was about this time two years ago. . .

That my house was being built, and I made an offer on it.

It would have been a risky thing for me to buy a pile o’ sticks under normal circumstances. . . but I had seen the finished product of my house in another town and really liked it. . . just didn’t like the location.  I’m still really happy I made the decision I made, and I will never forget how fun it was to watch the house being built (or how difficult it was for me to get the damn combination lock on the front door unlocked). . . I just realized that I never posted the pictures of progress from start to finish. . .

The first day I looked at it!

Windows and a little siding. . .

A little more siding. . . (and some snow)

Garage doors, lights, and other details coming together. . .

Some brick. . .

All finished. . . with grass (but I can't find my pic with all landscaping!)

And let’s take a look at the living room. . .

Framed up!

Starting to look like a house (kind of)!

Now, really looking like a house. . . This is the day my friend Katie toured, and I made the executive decision to get hardwood floors instead of carpet (thanks to her for convincing me it wasn't too late!).

Fireplace is coming together. . .

And I have a mantel. . . (yes, the light is dumb in this picture.)

Soooo happy with the hardwood floor decision. . . love the shade I picked, too.

Almost finished. . . still doesn't have all my decor (I guess I don't have a picture with all of it!)

What the hell, let’s do the kitchen, too. . .

Pantry in the right corner. . .

Not many changes. . . just some insulation and wiring. . .

Made some choices. . . This was SO MUCH FUN!

Coming together. . .

And we have drywall!

Patio door. . .

Oooh. . . cabinets, floors, lights! (This was a super exciting night!)

Countertops!

The backsplash day was also an extremely exciting day. . .

And some appliances are in. . .

And all appliances are in. . . complete with the blue film on the stove.

And here's a finished product with my "stuff". . .

It’s been really fun.  It’s been really weird not to have to do much around my house.  I’m used to constantly having something to paint or work on.  It’s nice that I haven’t had to do any major repair work either. . . but then there’s been a lot to BUY with a new house.  All window coverings, landscaping, concrete, deck.  It all adds up, my friends.  Not sure I’d want to do it again unless it was my “forever” home. . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

