Posted by: illinigirl | November 11, 2011

Thankful #11

I’m thankful I’m not vacationing in Charlotte right now!

Here’s a free tip to anyone traveling internationally:  YOU MAY HAVE TO APPLY FOR A VISA TO ENTER A COUNTRY!

In aaaallll the research I’d done, websites I’ve read, dozens of people I talked to. . . this was never pointed out to me. . . and I didn’t even think to ask.  I never really knew there were requirements other than a passport.  Luckily I noticed this in the *back* of one of my books just in time.

While last night was NOT a fun night and we are completely bummed. . . we are just so thankful we learned this last night before we got on a plane today and were stopped in Charlotte. . . and had some time to cancel some of of our reservations.

We did lose some money. . . but all in all, not a ton.  We rebooked our trip last night. . . and seeing as we had to eat the price of our first flight. . . we paid WAY more than we would normally pay for a flight. . . but we are flying first class now.

After the busy week I had and the stressful night we had. . . I am pretty excited at the prospect of chilling out and relaxing now. . . and I’m all packed and ready to go. . . and just get to chill out and enjoy a weekend here before holiday and work madness set in when I return.  It’s not a completely terrible ending. . . and we WILL go back to South America someday!!!

I’m so thankful to Liz for being such a good sport.  Neither of us was to blame, and. . . it was what it was!  There were many irritating and frustrating times last night. . . MANY curse words.  MANY.  MANY calls to the airline. . . We were all over the map (Literally!). . . but we had to laugh through the whole thing.  At 2:00 a.m. as we’re trying for the 10th time to book our hotel, I started laughing and snorting laying on my bed.  Yes, delirium began to set in. . .

As one of the Indigo Girls say, “You have to laugh at yourself because you’d cry your eyes out if you didn’t.”

Thanks to the best travel friend a girl could ever have!

Responses

  1. Ah! That explains it! Good to know. I don’t know if I would have caught that one either. You two will have a great time in Mexico. You didn’t say exactly where you two were headed…intentionally leaving us hangin’?

  2. that stinks! i wouldn’t have known that either. i remember us having to fill out a few visas when i was flying but i was thinking they were for some countries in asia. i never would have thought that you would have needed one for where you were going in south america. you’ll have a great time in mexico though. and i’m jealous that you’ll be relaxing on the beach.


Leave a Reply

Categories

