Posted by: illinigirl | July 10, 2011

Can you spot the animals?

I just returned from Yellowstone/The Grand Teton National Parks.  Absolutely. Amazing.

I have lots of great pictures to share. . . but first, I thought I’d play a little game.  This would be a fun one for the kids, too!  😉

I do not have a great zoom lens so most pictures of bears and such are not all that great because they are taken at quite a distance (thankfully!). . . but it was still fun to try and capture them.  I totally failed in some pictures and didn’t even end up capturing the animals in some!  :\

I left the obvious, closer shots out of this game. . . I’ll post those later!

#1. . . Do you see the elk?

In the shade. . . tricky guy!

#2. . . Can you spot the bear?

This picture shows the bear at a different angle. . . but it's in the middle of the clearing above. . . a grizzly bear!

#3. . . Can you spot the bald eagle?

On a branch in the tallest tree on the right. . . We saw a baby bald eagle, too, but I failed to get a picture. FACT. . . Bald eagles have *brown* feathers on their heads when they are young because before they can fly, they spend a few weeks on the ground. . . and a white head would draw too much attention. Isn't that cool?

#4. . . Can you spot the moose?

Seen on our float trip. . . 🙂

#5. . . Can you spot the ?????????

There were ~5 cars pulled over with binoculars watching this. I asked a lady what it was. . . and she said, "I don't know. A red critter.". . . After taking a picture and zooming, I'm fairly sure the "red critter" is a PERSON in a read shirt. SUCKERS!!!

I’ll post the “good” pictures later. . . thanks for playing!  🙂

Responses

  1. I was 5 for 5 in “critter” spotting. Loved this game… looking forward to more pix. I HEART Yellowstone… glad you got to go~

  2. is that last one a coyote? looks like you’re having/had a great trip.

  3. this was funny! especially the last one being a person 🙂

  4. Glad you made it home safe. I have to admit I didn’t see the bear at first. I was looking in the shadows, behind the rocks, etc. Please record my score as four out of five. The “red critter” looks like a homeless Cardinal fan.

  5. Technically she could be a cougar!


Leave a Reply

Categories

