Posted by: illinigirl | May 22, 2011

Life changing event

No, no. . . No one died, I’m not getting married, and I’m not pregnant. . . but I did have a life changing event last week.

I joined the ranks of Kathy Griffin, Bethenny Frankel, and others. . . and hired a. . . personal assistant/errand girl last week.

Before you get all judgmental and wonder why the hell I need such a thing, please keep some things in mind. . .

When you first relocate somewhere for work, you are usually in a honeymoon phase in the beginning when you aren’t working a million hours, and you can take some time to get organized, run your errends, etc.  When I moved here, I lived in a hotel for three months while my house was being built.  When I moved into my house, I was SO BUSY at work and working a ton of hours.  My first two weekends in my house, I had house guests.  While my first guests helped quite a bit in helping me get settled, I still lived in chaos for quite some time.  Especially in my bedroom, where NOTHING was labeled properly (thank you movers).  A newly built house requires a ridiculous amount of time as far as landscaping, concrete work, getting things hooked up, assessed, etc. . . and. . . my house required a deck. . . the things that needed to be completed were/are endless.  I struggled to complete my house “to do” list. . . and really never got organized.  Work is ALWAYS crazy and chaotic.  When my house is chaotic, I live my life as a giant ball of stress.

Add to this that I work an average of 55-60 hours a week. . . that I worked nearly every weekend in the months of January and February that I was in town. . . and I am out of town or have visitors 1-2 weekends a month.  I leave work ~6:30 every morning. . . and return home ~7:00 at night. . . If I have to go to the grocery store or Walgreens, it can be 7:30 or 8:00 before I get home.*

*Please note, I am NOT complaining!  I signed up for this gig of moving on my own. . . I knew I had a demanding job.  Such is life, and this job affords me a lifestyle I am very blessed to have.  That being said. . . I don’t sleep much, I don’t work out, and I don’t have much of a social life. . . but I’d love to carve out more time for these things. . . but more importantly, I’d just like to GET SOME SH*T DONE. . . Get some of these nagging personal tasks off my plate so I can enjoy life when I come home from work.

My friend has been in this boat, too. . . and we often talked about putting an ad in the paper to find someone to help us outside of work. . . but then, she thought of something. . . her stepdaughter is home this summer from college and needs a job.  BOOM.  Done!

She is a sweet, trustworthy girl. . . who is saving my life and making me happier than I can express on a daily basis.  She’s only working ~5 hours a week for me, but it’s enough to help me tremendously.

Can I explain the joy I felt when I came home on Thursday to dry cleaning picked up and in my closet???  I don’t really have much that needs to be dry cleaned. . . but do you realized that I’ve NEVER been to the dry cleaners as long as I’ve lived here???  I wore a suit to a work dinner a year ago, and have NEVER drycleaned it since.  Pathetic!  Now, it’s finally clean and in my closet.

Can I explain how happy I was when I received a text today that said that the junk removal guy is coming tomorrow to pick up all the CRAP in my garage tomorrow, and that she will be there to meet him and tell him what to take out???

Can I explain how awesome it is that I’m having her pick up my sleepytime tea, toothpaste, and bottled water tomorrow???  I have plans after work to meet up with friends the next two nights, and I’ll be able to enjoy myself, come home late. . . and not worry about stopping off at the store afterwards.

I’m also having her arrange to have someone stain my deck. . . have the city come and cut a pipe in my yard. . . have someone finish concrete work for my driveway apron. .  . pick up five pairs of pants from the tailor.  The list goes on and on.

Another added benefit is that she’s in my house all the time. . . As a result, I will not be letting it go to hoarders status or get too cluttered by the end of the week to avoid embarrassment.  I have a terrible habit of letting my house go to hell every week and cleaning it on the weekend.  I will no longer do this.

Ah, serenity now.  🙂

Responses

  1. that.is.awesome!!!!!
    great idea to use college kid that you can trust.

  2. i say good for you!!

  3. Diva


Leave a Reply

Categories

