Posted by: illinigirl | March 9, 2011

Lenten Memories

I was talking to Dad and remembered something tonight.

I was in 1st or 2nd grade, and I gave up peanuts for Lent because I used to eat them a lot at my grandparents’ house.  Sister Mary Lois said that this should be something difficult to do, and if you knowingly do the thing you gave up, it was very bad.

I was such an obedient kid back then. . . especially with teachers and religion.

Well, everyone in my family knew what I gave up.  One day, I was at my Grandma’s house, and I was eating toast with crunchy peanut butter.  I ate a few bites, and my aunt said, “Wait, crunchy peanut butter is like eating peanuts!”

Well, little did my poor 18 year old aunt know that I would burst into tears and sobbing and refuse to eat anything else.

I no longer give anything up, but here’s to focusing on being a better person. . . while eating all the crunchy peanut butter I want.  🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

