Posted by: illinigirl | February 20, 2011

Snow Bunny

Yes, I finally went skiing for the first time yesterday.  A bit scary, but it was so much fun.

We went to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan, and it was an all-girls, trip.  I figured, if I was going to learn to do this, this was the time. . . and it was actually perfect because there were ~10 people on our bus who had never skied before.

I took lessons most of the morning (and into the afternoon), and they really, really helped me.  After lunch, I went down the real hills. . . We didn’t have much time, as the lifts closed at 4:00. . . but I did the real runs five times.  Here is the summary:

  • I only fell down on the hills once. . . My other two major falls were at the dang tow rope on the bunny hill. . . and just standing there at the ski lift.  HA!
  • I hate the tow rope.  Definitely feels like my arms were pulled out of their sockets today.  Holy crap.
  • I am not a fan of the ski lift.  Felt like I was definitely going to plummet to my death.  The first time, we had a debacle at the ski lift so three of us ended up riding alone (including ME, the terrified one!).  It turns out, I didn’t mind it as long as I was with other people.
  • There is nothing so fun as flying down the hill (when you are in control).  SO FUN!  😀
  • I didn’t suck as badly as I thought I would.

FUN TIMES!

Me and some friends getting ready to hit the slopes!

This was a buddy that was also a first-time skier. We ended up pairing up most of the afternoon because we both had limited skills. I am impressed with us. We did well! 🙂

🙂

Responses

  1. i am so impressed! i keep meaning to try skiing but…….i haven’t yet. hello – i’m getting too old! it doesnt seem right to be married to a coloradoan and not be able to ski. seeing your pics gives me motivation! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

