Posted by: illinigirl | January 17, 2011

The most meaningful MLK, Jr. day I’ve ever had. . .

Was when I attended a banquet back in 2005 and had the chance to see Don Newcombe speak. . .

I dreaded attending this banquet on my day off. . . didn’t know much about Mr. Newcombe, and didn’t really feel like being social that icy day in New Hampshire.  Would have rather stayed on the couch under a blanket watching Oprah.

Little did I know what a history lesson I’d receive or how powerful his speech would be.

It’s truly difficult to understand how different life was in those days.  Even as a baseball great, you were treated like a second-class citizen.  Separate locker rooms, people spitting on you as they passed. . . just so difficult to fathom.  It was amazing to hear the stories about how these men triumphed over such adversity.  Not to say that things are perfect. . . but I’m glad I live in a time where it IS difficult for me to fathom this way of life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

