Posted by: illinigirl | November 15, 2010

Germs

I am a bit of a germaphobe.  Not a TOTAL germaphobe. . . but yeah. . . definitely have some issues.

I watched CBS Sunday Morning segment this weekend that asked a lot of questions about washing hands.

There’s the camp that says you should wash your hands while singing “Happy Birthday” twice. . .

And there’s a camp that says we should *only* wash our hands if they smell. . . and don’t use antibiotic soap.

I work in a field where I shake tons of hands and such.  I don’t like option one.  Also, option two gives you more opportunities for becoming sick. . which could strengthen your immune system.  Sorry, but I just never feel “in the mood” to get sick and strengthen my immunity so I’ll just stay clear of sick people, thank you.

After watching this, I remembered that my mom told me about this episode of “Mythbusters” about spreading germs. . . It’s a bit long, because it carries over to two parts. . . but it’s well worth watching.  Eeewwww.

CHECK THESE OUT!

Responses

  1. after being a flight attendant, i am a total germaphobe. touching everyone’s stuff just grossed me out. my hands were raw from all the washing i did.
    i know this is gross but there’e also a myth busters that shows you how much po o is actually on your toothbrush (just from being in your bathroom).

  2. OH GROSS SUZANNE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YUUUUUUCK.

    I’m going to put the travel covers on our toothbrushes ALL of the time now.

    But Hannah, I subscribe to the camp of washing before you eat, after you use the bathroom, after handling pets, after handling raw meat, and of course, after touching gross, icky things. We do need some germs 🙂 My mom says that the sickest kids at her school are the ones whose moms say “I don’t know why s/he is sick, I scour EVERYTHING with Clorox Wipes!!!”

  3. I have been meaning to blog on that, too! I watched an Oprah about the po o!!!!

    Our toilet stuff travels GREAT DISTANCES when we flush. I always put the lid down whenever I flush now. ICKY.


Leave a Reply

Categories

