Posted by: illinigirl | October 2, 2010

Paros–Day #1

Yeah, yeah. . . it’s been a while!

I still need to do a sunset blog for Santorini, but I’m moving on to Paros for a bit.

We knew we wanted to go to Santorini, but we weren’t sure about what other island(s). . . There are so many options.  I love DK Eyewitness books.  Someone on http://www.tripadvisor.com, and someone on that site recommended these books whenever you travel. . . and they are great.  I bought a book on the islands, and it had a chart that listed what amenities were available.  My thing was that I wanted a place with lots to do. . . but that wasn’t too, too touristy.  Also, my colleague recommended this island.

I’m really happy with our choice.  I really liked that the island offered enough to do. . . but that ginormous cruise ships didn’t empty out on the island every day.  (Liz and I wanted to HURT the cruise people in Santorini!)

Our hotel was great.  Someone on Trip Advisor recommended it so we switched from the place we were going to stay.  I’m glad.  The people were so nice.  Particularly, the front desk lady at our property. . . and a guy that worked at the other property.  SUCH A SWEET BOY!  I wanted to take him home with me!  This hotel also had a little beach area in front of it, which was nice because we should walk less than a block and be at the beach.

(SIDENOTE:  I didn’t really think about all the b**bs we’d see at the beach.  I’m really not a fan of looking up and having b**bs in your face. . . and before any of my male readers get excited, they were mostly cougar and old lady b**bs.  Really, no one needs to see that.  The bartender at our hotel would go across the street and flirt with this cougar pack, and it was just strange to me. . . like, you are just sitting there, in a group of people, talking to naked ladies.  It’s all out there.)

Anyway. . . here’s some pictures!

View from the driveway of our hotel

View from our room balcony

Another view from the balcony

The room

Can we say, "crystal blue water?"

This is how I spent most of my time on the beach. . . LOVED my Kindle on this trip!

Outdoor part of our hotel restaurant

LOVED the light in this area. Saw it on the walk into the town center. . . but it was way too cold in this spot to eat here!

So many flowers all over town. . . love them.

Liz noticed these drawings on the sidewalk. . . love them!

This restaurant looked so cool. Areas like this remind me of Van Gogh's Cafe Terrace at Night

Loved this church at night. . .

Stay tuned for Day #2!

Responses

  1. that 1st picture w/ the arch and beach is BEAUTIFUL!

  2. The TV in your hotel room was HUGE! You were probably used to it since it took you so long to ditch the 13 incher in your bedroom.

  3. Ok, I CAN’T TAKE ANY MORE! Could you just plan one more trip there and take me too??!! EVERY single picture is breath taking!! Even the one of your toes and the kindle!!! hehe. I now know I NEED to go to Greece.

  4. Just how old were the cougars????

    • Sick, Dad!!!

  5. […] Paros–Day 1 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

