Posted by: illinigirl | October 2, 2010

I’m on a boat!

Yeah, being on a boat in the ocean is not as fun as it may seem. . . if you get motion sickness.

Motion sickness #1 was on this day. . . but this was mild compared to the next motion sickness.

This was the ferry we took from Santorini to Paros.  First off, it was a WINDY, CHOPPY day.  Secondly, it was a big boat. . . but not a big enough boat.  I told Liz that now we knew how it felt to be in a washing machine.  That’s literally what I felt like.  The ride was only 1 1/2 hours (I think).  I managed to make it through without throwing up until the last 15 minutes!

Here are some fun facts:

  • The girls next to us threw up in the first 15 minutes. . . and continued to throw up throughout the trip.  Someone behind us also threw up.
  • About halfway through the trip, a guy from the ferry company came by handing out stacks of sickness bags.
  • When I was feeling most sick in the last 15 min., I tried to go to the bathroom, but you couldn’t get in because there were people getting sick in all the stalls, in the sink, and people lying all over the floor getting sick.  I had to plop down on the floor and join them.

Liz managed to get through without getting sick. . . but it finally just got to me.  I’d taken every last bit of energy to focus on not doing it, and it just didn’t work.

Can you see why we tried to get a flight back to Athens instead of taking another ferry???  We were not successful, but luckily, our next ferry was BIG. . . and it was not a choppy day.

Please note:  flights are faster and worth every penny for this girl!

Liz took a picture of the sickness bags to remind us of this fun experience!

Responses

  1. I feel your pain. I got horribly sea-sick when we were in Jamaica for my brother’s wedding. Unfortunately, I was in the “get sick during the first 15 mins” category. I managed to still have a decent time, but I learned my lesson about small boats and choppy oceans!

  2. […] I’m on a boat […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

