Posted by: illinigirl | August 2, 2010

It’s Sweet. . .

But not so sweet trying to save it.

I shucked, cooked, cut, and bagged 2 dozen ears of sweet corn tonight to freeze it.

This is the first time I’ve done this. . . and I’m not sure why I find it so obnoxious to do, but I do.  It just seems like there are so many steps. . . and it’s so messy cutting it off the cob.  (I say this, but I don’t actually eat corn off the cob and ALWAYS cut it off. . . so I’m not sure why I felt it was so messy tonight!)

Maybe it’s just that I started so late and got home late from work. . . This better be worth it when I’m eating sweet corn in November!!!

P.S.–I had EIGHT cavities today at the dentist.  YES, EIGHT.  YES, this is a RECORD.  😦  This is also costing me ~$800!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I got so good at changing my pop lifestyle in Houston. . . it’s time to try again.  I am going to nominate several of my co-workers as accountability partners.

Responses

  1. i have bad news for you. two years ago i did the same thing in the hopes of preserving my beloved sweet corn to enjoy in the winter.

    it is possible that i did something wrong and that you did not make the same error(s) as me BUT…
    IT WAS AWFUL.

    it shrank in the freezer and each kernel was tiny and mushy. we ended up throwing it all out. this was devastating to me.

    so fair warning…hopefully i’m a moron and you are smart and your frozen corn will be successful! i’m pretty sure i remember my grandma freezing sweet corn and it being awesome, so i know it’s possible!!

  2. ouch – my teeth hurt just reading that.

  3. So jealous of your sweet corn Hannah!! I don’t even bother buying corn here in California because it just doesn’t compare. I just have to get a bellyfull of it everytime I come home to visit the family.

  4. Poop. It appears that maybe Lizzle is correct. I’m thawing a bag to see what happens. I don’t know if they are shrinking. . . but it definitely looks like a brick of corn, which I think is not a good sign. ;\ I will keep you posted!!!

  5. I’ve put up sweet corn in the past also…..do you know you only cook it for like 3 minutes tops before you put it up in the freezer? You don’t cook it completely like you would as if you were going to eat it today. Just an FYI. Maybe that’s the problem for queenlizzle?? Just wanted to throw that out there…..

    Hope yours turns out OK!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

