Posted by: illinigirl | May 18, 2010

More than a bummer

I had a sad moment last night .

I found out that one of my high school classmates passed away.

Now, I’ve (sadly) already lost some friends at young ages. . . but it’s been a while, and this really hit me.

It was just like the “Damn, I’m older.” moment.  I know people probably often have this feeling when they get much older and hit the ages when more people their ages pass away, but I had a little twinge of this last night.

But no. . . my sadness was not really about being older. . .

The picture of my classmate posted on his facebook tribute page was one most likely from early high school days, wearing a high school sweatshirt.  He looked so young, so sweet. . . you know, like we all did.

I haven’t seen him in probably ~8 or 9 years. . . but I just flashed back to this sweet 16 year-old boy. . . and I couldn’t believe he was gone. . .

It sounds like Dan was traveling the world and doing all sorts of cool stuff. . . LOVE IT.

Life is short, people. . . live it up!

Responses

  1. I’m right there with you. I’m not quite sure how to process it, either. He’s one of those people I’ve *always* wondered what happened to, but never bothered to find out.

    Definitely a sad day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

