Posted by: illinigirl | May 12, 2010

Fake but no-bake!

I know that this post may strike a nerve with some of you, but I need to get this off my chest.

I am watching a show about someone addicted to tanning. . . and I have seen so many facebook status updates about tanning lately. . . and I CAN’T TAKE IT ANYMORE!

There are just so many compelling reasons to NOT do this.

That being said, this can be said for smoking and so many other crappy things you can do to yourself. . . so yeah, it’s probably a lost cause. . . but I have to rant about it anyway.

Please keep in mind that I HATE being the see-through color of white.  Yuck.  You know what I hate more though?. . . the TIME I would spend tanning back in the day.  Such a waste of time that I haven’t been able to afford in years.  It’s been at least four years since I’ve tanned indoors.  I’m sad that I tanned that recently.  😦  I think I went ~4 times before I went to Florida to see Liz M.

Before that. . . It was ~10 years ago. . . before a trip to Florida.  Before that, it was high school for proms.

I regret even those small amounts!

As I said, I HATE being super-white, but now that I’ve found these wipes, I am okay with this. . . because I can look naturally tan.  Every time I use wipes, people ask me if I’ve been out in the sun.  It looks natural. . . not orange!  Someone today just told me that I looked great and like I had sun. . . nope, wipes!  🙂  I always reveal my secret!

I’ve also done spray tan for weddings and such that I’m in. . . it only takes a few minutes, and it looks AWESOME.  (Please note that it takes a day to show up, and you should exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate in advance!)

Do you know people that tanned a lot now or back in the day?  Odds are, they look quite a bit older than they are.  I have many examples of this, but I think it would be frowned upon if I put pictures of friends and family on facebook so I will refrain.

Also, let’s talk about skin cancer.  I have two friends that have had it.  Oh WAIT, don’t even get me started on that rant.

Ironically, as I am typing this. . . they are talking on the news about a new 10% tax on tanning in the healthcare bill.  I think I am okay with this. . . especially with the utter BS statistics that many salons put out. . . trying to make you think that tanning is the greatest thing you can ever do for yourself for vitamin D, etc.

Bite me, people.  Your propaganda BUGS me, and I hope you an sleep at night with all the crap you are spewing.

The moral of the story:  Be happy in your own skin, and if you’re not. . . invest in some Loreal wipes. 🙂

Responses

  1. eric and i still get checked yearly by our dermatologist for skin cancer b/c i’m so freaked out by how much time we spent out in the sun. and don’t forget my senior year of high school that i worked in a tanning salon – so not good. i’ve never tried those wipes but i’ll have to.

  2. thank you for posting this!! 🙂 i’m going to go buy some o’those wipes! my clear white skin is just like your clear white skin, so i figure if it works for you it works for me! 🙂

    good post hannah!

  3. Tune in to Foto Friday tomorrow for a post on my whiteness. Will check out the wipes!

  4. […] tanned, self-tanned, spray-tanned, etc. in an effort to combat my pastiness.  (Hannah had an interesting post about the same subject yesterday.) None of these things are pleasant, nor do they last long, so […]

  5. could not agree more!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

