Posted by: illinigirl | May 8, 2010

Shew. . . just a myth

My friend Skooi called me last night and said he was pumping gas.

AHHH!  This freaks me out because I always heard not to pump gas and talk on the phone at the same time because there could be an explosion!  I never have my phone anywhere near me and get a little freaked out when anyone else does. . .

I finally took the time to look this up. . . and snopes confirms this is a myth. . . and of course, so did Mythbusters.

So there you go, my friends:

http://www.snopes.com/autos/hazards/gasvapor.asp

Talk and pump away!

But DON’T smoke and pump away.  Seriously. . . if I see anyone smoking anywhere near a gas pump. . . even in their car while pumping gas, I drive away and go to another gas station.

Am I paranoid about not wanting to explode at the gas station?

Maybe. . .

Responses

  1. don’t they have signs on the pumps that say not to use a cell phone around them?
    i always thought it was true too.

  2. Just make sure you don’t get in a freak, gasoline fight accident.
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3889944325139005442#

  3. i’m with suzanne…i thought there were signs at some gas stations!

    hannah, i’m thinking we were separated at birth. i have this strange fear being blown up at a gas station. i’m serious. i even have a post half finished about it!

  4. Haha, thanks for the Zoolander reference! I’m glad that I can still talk to you at the gas pump, Hannah!


Leave a Reply

Categories

