Posted by: illinigirl | May 6, 2010

A Cappella, Baby

On Saturday night, Mom, Meg, and I went to an a cappella concert on campus.

The start was slow. . . and I thought. . . “Oh crap, is this gonna suck?”

They showed a funny movie they made re: the group, which was a little long. . . and there was an emcee who did waaaay to much talking.  I just kept thinking. . . “SERIOUSLY. . . I came for the SINGING.”

It was so worth it once they started singing.  Here’s the songs they did that I remember. . .

Girls:

  • “Love Will Keep Us Together” by Captain and Tennille –AWESOME, my favorite from the girls
  • A Lady Gaga montage
  • “Yesterday” En Vogue version (which I have always been a fan of. . . and this is the group’s signature song over the years)  The girl who did the lead on this was AMAZING.  I’ve heard a lot of amazing vocalists in the group, and she is the best I’ve ever, ever heard.

    Struggling to remember the girls’ songs!

    Guys:

    • “Sweet Thing” Keith U.
    • “I Just Can’t Wait to be King” Lion King (I really surprisingly LOVED this.  They did all the wild animal noises and stuff from the beginning. Very cool.)
    • “I Could Hold You in My Arms” Ray M.
    • “Party in the U.S.A”  🙂
    • “Backstreet’s Back” 🙂
    • “Insomniac” –an a cappella classic
    • Something by T-Pain that was really good
    • And tons of other good stuff that I can’t remember. . . including the Old Spice Commercial done by an African-American guy with a SUPER-DEEP voice.  Awesome.  🙂

    Together, the group did Queen’s “Somebody to Love”. . . love it.

    Leave a Reply

        Categories

