Posted by: illinigirl | April 29, 2010

These shoes are made for walkin’

Yep, going home for the 5k this weekend. . . but I’m walking it.  *thumbs down*

You know how I’m working 12 and 13 hour days and not eating enough?  Yeah, that’s not conducive to running or having any level of energy!

My aunt and mom are walking with me so it should be fun.  Mom was running (which she has really never done–KUDOS!). . . and she pulled something so she is now walking.  My aunt has exercise-induced asthma, which she just started having issues with. . . so she is also walking.

Please note that we are not that motivated at this point, and if it rains, we are just going to eat breakfast.  Honestly, I would rather eat breakfast than do this at this point.  Hell, even if it doesn’t rain, anyone could convince me to eat breakfast instead.

I’m also not excited about getting up as early as I do for work.  Boo.

The good news is that I get to see Acappellapolooza while I’m home.

I. am. so. pumped.

Two of the a cappella groups on campus at the U of I perform together. . . and usually have a group from another school that joins them.  The music is so entertaining, amazing, and fun.  I have been a junkie since my sophomore year.

Example one

Example two

One of my friend’s roommates was in one of the groups so I went to several of their smaller gigs. . . including one at a dorm my senior year.  They had a group in from the University of Michigan visiting. . . and they did a collection of Goo Goo Dolls, and “AM Radio” by Everclear.  So flipping cool.  Someone had to yell “Whoa! Whoa! Whoa! Whoa!” in the background of “AM Radio” practically the entire time.  Awesome.  Remember that song and the “Whoas”???

(As a mostly unrelated sidenote, my sis and I love Everclear, and she got to meet them.  Too bad that she was engaged at the time she met them, because one of the band members was totally into her.  She had to call me immediately after this encounter. . . and I was so jealous!)

Looking forward to a weekend away from stress!  🙂

Responses

  1. Any excuse to come home is a good one, right? I think walking the 5K will still be fun (provided there’s good weather), but I hear you about getting up early tomorrow.

    Maybe, just maybe, I’ll actually see you this time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

