Posted by: illinigirl | February 17, 2010

Giving stuff up

So I think giving stuff up for no reason can be dumb if there’s no meaning behind it.  I “gave up” giving stuff up in high school.  I generally try to give back and have done some creative things over the years, but I suck right now.  I am working a ton, and am very selfish with my time, as I have so little.  Tonight, I said I would leave work early and go to church, but I *blinked* and it became 5:45. . . and then I was just on a roll and couldn’t stop what I was doing.  I left at 5 ’til 7:00 p.m.

~90% of my free time is probably spent on my computer.  Even when I am “watching TV”, I have my computer on my lap.

I am going to try and cut back and do some other stuff to make a difference in people’s lives.  It will be very simple, but hopefully. . . meaningful.  I don’t have any of my stuff, a kitchen, and am hesitant to spend much money until my house stuff falls into place and I see how much all my incidentals will cost!

I was going to set a limit to my computer time, but I’m not going to do that because. . . I enjoy blogging.  I enjoy looking at people’s pictures.  I enjoy emailing, etc.  There’s really no point to giving it up.  Yeah, it’s a sacrifice, but for what?

I am going to try and do one faith-based post per week during Lent.  If you’re not into it, that’s okay. . . skip it. . .

Here’s to Lent. . . it’s a great time of year for reflection and remembering what’s important in life. . . and in seeing the importance of having the alleluias and Easters to look forward to!

Responses

  1. I like the faith-based post idea! You might have inspired me to try something like that…


Leave a Reply

Categories

