Posted by: illinigirl | November 16, 2009

As real as it may seem. . . It was only in my dreams

A cool front came through my fine city this morning. . . I knew this was happening and was prepared for storms at some point. . . WELL, I woke up and heard on the news that the heaviest would be downtown by 7:00 a.m.  Eeek, I have been leaving at 6:45 or 6:50, and this was going to cut close.  I jumped in the shower and quickly threw myself together with plenty of time.  Walking downstairs at 6:35 a.m. . . . good deal, right?  UNTIL. . . BAM, it starts pouring!  In Texas, “pouring” kicks any rain from any other place’s butt.  There is just no comparison.  I ran outside, and thought. . . I’m heading East, the storm is heading East. . . but I’m sure I can beat it.  Ummm. . . it was a FAST moving storm and went right along with me.  Uh, yeah. . . pretty freaky heavy rain to drive in.

So. . . I get to work and think. . . this is going to take forever to go through this side of town.  It’s POURING. . . and I am parked far away because it was right before shift change.  I decide that I can’t waste time in my car, so I’m going to go for it.  Um, yeah. . . MY LEGS WERE SOAKED.  My jeans were so wet. . . soaked to my underwear!  My shoes were waterlogged, too.  The next bit o’ fun. . . it’s cold inside.  I sat on a coat, and covered up with a coat. . . and sat there most of the first two hours of the day, not moving because it was too uncomfortable to stand up.  It is *rare* that my motion detector lights go off in my office because I’m always up and about.  Yeah, they went off during those two hours, so clearly, I’m never that still!

At 9:15, traffic finally went down heading West, and I had to go home and change clothes because I was miserable.

The moral of the story is, when there are torrential downpours, consider waiting it out. . . especially when they are FAST.  (20 min. after I was in the office, it stopped raining.  😐 )

This was probably all meant to be though. . . because the good part of the day started then. . . I heard Debbie Gibson’s “Only in My Dreams” on satellite radio when I was pulling into the work parking lot on my way back from changing clothes.  I had to break myself away from the car to go back into work. . . (video is disabled, but watch it on youtube.  You will thank me later when your heart is smiling a big, purple, glitter, 80s smile).  🙂

I’d like to give a shout out to Deborah (formerly known as Debbie) for turning my frown upside-down.  🙂

Responses

  1. “You will thank me later when your heart is smiling a big, purple, glitter, 80s smile).”

    LOL!

  2. Heehee!! Debbie Gibson rocked! I wore that CD out! Loved it!!! And I feel your pain with the rain, we had a storm like that one night when I was leaving for work. AND I had to stop and get gas too . . I was soaked head to toe, inside and out. Luckily, I was going home and could go home and change. I can’t imagine having to sit at work all day like that. UGH!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

