Posted by: illinigirl | September 21, 2009

Sunset hike in Portland

So. . . in the next episode of the Pacific Northwest, I will take you to an interesting adventure. . . a rare hike.

Why is this rare?

Well, hiking can be rare enough. . . hiking at any level of steepness is more rare (unless in New Hampshire). . . You may find this hard to believe, but I’m not entirely in shape or a nature girl (as can be seen here). . .

Erin suggested a sunset hike. . . and I’m a sucker for a sunset. . . especially with the cool “sunset” setting on my new camera!

Please note that this hike is somewhat steep. . . and is supposed to take ~1 1/2 to do. . . and we did it in a little over an hour.  Holy goodness.  I had to make us stop two or three times to BREATHE. . . Everyone else took pity on me.  At one point, I said, “Kerri, sorry I’m breathing like a COW.”. . . she said, “I’m sorry, I can’t here you over MY breathing!”

Here are some of the pictures and the awesome payoff!

Blurry. . . but this is where we went Angels Rest. . . what a neat name.

Blurry (probably because Liz and Erin move at the speed of light, unlike ME). . . but this is where we went. "Angel's Rest". . . what a lovely name.

Near the beginning. . .

Near the beginning. . .

On the way up!

On the way up!

Love the light in this one. . .

Love the light in this one. . .

Glimpses of the view that is to come!

Glimpses of the view that is to come!

Not such a fan of the giant unstable rocks. . .

Not such a fan of the giant unstable rocks. . . They are no match for Erin, who laughs at them.

 The rest of us. . . sneer

The rest of us. . . smile on the outside. . . 🙂

AHA!  Finally at the top!

AHA! Finally at the top!

Erin at the tip-top!

Erin at the tip-top!

I was excited

I was excited

This is my favorite picture from this hike. . .

This is my favorite picture from this hike. . .

View to the east. . .

View to the east. . .

Love this one, too

Love this one, too

Then, it became. . . DARK. . . I tried to take a picture of how cool the sky looked, but it just didnt turn out!

Then, it became. . . DARK (and DARKER in the thick trees). . . I tried to take a picture of how cool the sky looked, but it just didn't turn out!

Here is a video. . . yes, it goes sideways at one point. . . and yes, I’m wearing a headlamp, which is why there is a bright light in the camera!  When I took the video, were were probably a little less than halfway down. . . . see the car lights?  That shows how far away we are from where we parked!

Such a unique and funny experience. . . thanks to Kerri, for bringing up the rear with me. . . and thanks to ERIN, who arranged this!  We NEVER would have done this on our own!

Sexy beast with a headlamp. . . eat your hearts out, boys!  ;)

Sexy beast with a headlamp. . . eat your hearts out, boys! 😉

Responses

  1. […] She was our Portland hiking tour guide. . . Actually, we did a ton of cool hiking with her!  Here’s another one. . . […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

