Posted by: illinigirl | September 12, 2009

Sleepless in Seattle

I really didn’t sleep well in Seattle, unfortunately. . . but I made up for less than stellar sleep by eating twice as much as I normally do. . .

We mainly. . . ATE in Seattle. . . and YES. . . it rained most of the time!

We took a bus in Sunday night from Vancouver, and we stayed in the same funky hotel chain that queenlizzle and I stayed with in Alexandria, VA. . . so we had a fish again!

The lobby of our hotel was super-cool

The lobby of our hotel was super-cool

In the morning, we hit the market. . . and took pictures, looked around, ate, took more pictures, ate, and ate. . . 🙂

The first Starbucks!

The first Starbucks! (With a dude singing outside that made my ears bleed!)

Yeeeeessssssss. . . One of my favorite things in the whole world came back just in time for my arrival!!!

Pure joy

We forgot to flank Kerri. . .

LOVED all the flowers!

How cool are these?

This was unique. . .

Mmmmm. . .

Mmmmm. . .

This guy is bats**t crazy. . . but Ive got to hand it to to him.  I am not a fan of cats, but it turns out that I think cats in sweaters are adorable!

This guy is crazy as all-get-out. . . but I've got to hand it to to him. I am not a fan of cats, but it turns out that I think cats in argyle sweaters are adorable!

Then. . . on to the Space Needle!

Very cool. . . but no Mount Rainier sightings. . . too cloudy!

A view from the top. . .

A view from the top. . .

Another one

Another one

That night we ate at a restaurant featured on “The Best Thing I Ever Ate” on the Food Network called “Serious Pie”. . . a gourmet pizza place.  HOLY COW, WAS IT AMAZING!  Their special pizza not on the menu was a olive oil-based pizza with tomatoes, pesto, and goat cheese.  A-freakin-mazing.

AMAZING

AMAZING

Also delicious!!!

Also delicious!!!

Evidence of deliciousness!!!  :)

Evidence of deliciousness!!! 🙂

We walked down to Pike’s Market again to get some pictures at night.  I am only going to post ONE of these pictures.  This is a LONG story, and I have ~25 pictures to prove it.  Basically, there are pictures where it looks like the coffee cup is in the “public market” sign. . . but the only way to achieve this is to stand down the street and line it up that way.  I only have one where it’s lined up properly. . . and it cuts off the “p”. . . I’m certain that Kerri has one, but I will post my closest attempt instead of searching!

A bit of fish tail behind the mug. . .

A bit of fish tail behind the mug. . .

Unfortunately, the most famous place in the market was closed for Labor Day so we had to come back the next morning. . . but this was okay because it afforded us an opportunity to get more baked goods at a Russian bakery we loved. . . that smells like STRAIGHT BUTTER!  I should have taken a picture, but they make these amazing cinnamon rolls where apple slices are baked in. . . heaven. . . on. . . earth. . .

Say "butter!" 🙂

At the most famous market where they throw fish and act goofy

At the most famous market where they throw fish and act goofy

The guy kept giving us a hard time and kept telling me I could move closer. . .

The guy kept giving us a hard time and kept telling me I could move closer. . .

Finally, they told me to come behind the counter for a picture. . . okay, interesting!

Finally, they told me to come behind the counter for a picture. . . okay, interesting! Totally worth the visit for the photo op! 🙂

And so goes Seattle. . . very fun. . . very quick. . . much seen!

Responses

  1. i love seattle.
    but, the question is, did you see the woman who is forever pregnant asking for money and did you get chukar cherries?

  2. Did not see the pregnant lady, but OMG. . . forgot to talk about the cherries! YES, we all bought stuff! I am a cherry freak, but surprisingly, I ended up getting cranberries covered in white chocolate dusted with rasberry powder. AMAZING!!! 🙂

  3. I think the guy on your left dated one of the girls from the Real World when it was filmed in Seattle!

    Thanks for sharing all of these – I’m living vicariously through your vacations! ha! ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

