Posted by: illinigirl | September 10, 2009

Vancouver!

I am in love with Vancouver.  Plain and simple.  GREAT city.  Boston is my favorite city. . . but now I’m having a bit of an internal conflict with Vancouver.

  • So lovely.
  • So outdoorsy and active.
  • So diverse.
  • Such friendly people.

What’s not to love?

I loved our hotel.  It was owned by the same company as the hotel that queenlizzle and I stayed at in Old Town Alexandria.  It was in a really funky area and was so close to everything.

Well, first. . . here are some pics of my flight to Canada. . .

I wish I knew if this was Mount Hood or Mount Saint Helens (This is at the Portland Airport)

I wish I knew if this was Mount Hood or Mount Saint Helen's (This is at the Portland Airport)

From the windows taking off in Portland. . .

I took these from the window.  No, not the greatest picture seeing as the windows were crap, and I was sitting across the aisle. . . but the colors are unbelievable. . .

Doesn't the water look like lava???

We all got in late on Friday (some later than others!). . .  *one* of us just kept eating crepes, gelato, and drinking Starbucks while waiting on the others.  😉

In the morning, I got my first pumpkin spice latte of the season, and we headed off to Stanley Park.  At first I thought. . . eh. . .  this is just going to be like Central Park, right?  UM, NO. . . Super-duper cool (not like Central Park isn’t, BUT). . . this place was really cool and the entire park was surrounded by water.

Here are some pics. . .

Park and city. . . yes, it was overcast. . . and then started raining

Park and city. . . yes, it was overcast. . . and then started raining

Playing with my new camera settings. . . I did a lot of that!  Love this one.

Playing with my new camera settings. . . I did a lot of that! Love this one.

There are totem poles in a section of the park

There are totem poles in a section of the park

My friends Siobhan and Erin posed similarly to this, and we had to copy them!  We LOVE this picture!  Kerri, Me, and Liz.  :)

Copied Erin and Siobhan on this one. . . but everyone was doing this stuff in pictures. So fun!

Another area along the seawall of the park. . .

Another area along the seawall of the park. . .

Yep, there was rain. . . .

Yep, there was rain. . . .

So much COOL architecture. . . really unique designs. . . beautiful landscaping.  A truly beautiful city.  The building had a mote around it. .  .

So much COOL architecture. . . really unique designs. . . beautiful landscaping. A truly beautiful city. The building had a "moat" around it. . .

Granville Island was really cool. . . a really funky part of town with a HUGE farmers market type-area. . .

Granville Island was really cool. . . a really funky part of town with a HUGE farmer's market type-area. . .

The sun came out while we were at Granville Island!

The sun came out while we were at Granville Island!

Im convinced that my food would be even better if I could shop for ingredients at this market!

I'm convinced that my food would be even better if I could shop for ingredients at this market!

We went to a microbrewery on Granville Island, and they had some cool quotes on the wall. . .

We went to a microbrewery on Granville Island, and they had some cool quotes on the wall. . .

Liz and I both liked this coat and wanted something with a hood. . . so yep, we were twins on this trip.  :)

Liz and I both liked this coat and wanted something with a hood. . . so yep, we were twins on this trip. 🙂

The clouds were so billowy and cool . . .

The clouds were so billowy and cool . . .

Back to Vancouver proper. . . this is the famous Inukshuk. . . a big symbol of Vancouver and the upcoming Olympics.  I got a small silver necklace of the Inukshuk

Back to Vancouver proper. . . this is the famous Inukshuk. . . a big symbol of Vancouver and the upcoming Olympics. I got a small silver necklace of the Inukshuk

Prepare to see a lot of this at the 2010 Olympics!

Prepare to see a lot of this at the 2010 Olympics!

The sun is starting to set!  View from our hotel room!

The sun is starting to set! View from our hotel room!

I will pick up the sunset pictures in my next entry.  Just to warn you, I took as many pictures on this trip as I did in Italy!  I took 75 pictures at sunset our first night!  Stay tuned!  Much more of amazing Vancouver to come!

Responses

  1. i’ve heard that vancouver is great but i haven’t been there.
    also, i want a house w/ a moat.

  2. Love the shit out of the totem poll picture!

  3. I love that picture, too, Sar. . . one of my favs from the whole trip!


Leave a Reply

Categories

