Posted by: illinigirl | September 2, 2009

Another joy of homeownership!

So. . . I found an awesome plumber. . . GREAT guy and didn’t rip me off.  Honestly, things could have been a lot worse.  He thinks there was perhaps a mini-bar or something in my dining room. . . and that at some point, they just pinched the ends of the pipe.  Yep, a small leak, and he thinks it’s been leaking for ~1 month.  My wall was wet, and the floors were beginning to buckle so I caught this just in time.  LUCKILY, this was not a problem from upstairs or a problem at the neighbor’s house.  That would have been UGLY.  I only have a slightly ugly problem that will probably end up costing me last than $500. . . so things could be MUCH worse. . .

Here is my pretty wall. . .

Before the wall knew water. . .

Before the wall knew water. . . my red (which took five coats even though I used tinted primer).

What the pretty wall looks like now. . .

What the pretty wall looks like now. . .

The culprit (and the open sewage line is neat, too. . . LUCKILY, Ive never had any issues w/ that!)

The culprit (and the open sewage line is neat, too. . . LUCKILY, I've never had any issues w/ that!)

*sigh*. . . I will be having a beer tonight.

*sigh*. . . I will be having a beer tonight.

Responses

  1. your lucky you didn’t get any mold. that would have been even worse.
    you definitely deserve a beer tonight.

  2. you know i feel your pain on the plumbing issues!!!

    we also had one of these lovely “pinched” pipes. when the cabinet guys were putting in our cabinets they SWORE to me the line was dead and empty and they were just going to cut it. yep….they cut it and water went EVERYWHERE!

    the good news is that you caught it before your entire house floated away.

    sorry about the pretty red wall….that makes me sad.

  3. Oh dear goodness! That is a HUGE hole! While it sucks, at least the wall did not explode while you were out of town!


Leave a Reply

Categories

