Posted by: illinigirl | August 26, 2009

Self-loathing and Car Stuff

Ever have one of those days where you’re just not very proud of yourself?  That’s me today.  I am a BALL OF MESS!  Today sucked on a number of levels (none of which I can talk about!). . . so that certainly isn’t helping.

Awkward is my middle name.

To top off this fan-freakin-tastic day. . . I got pulled over tonight because my license plates light is out.  FOR THE LOVE OF GOD. . . I KNOW IT’S MINOR, BUT I REFUSE TO FIX ONE MORE FLIPPING THING ON MY POC (crap) CAR!!!

I think I might get a new car this weekend.

What should I get!?!?!?

Here are some things I’ve thought about. . .

http://www.mazdausa.com/MusaWeb/displayPage.action?pageParameter=modelsMain&vehicleCode=RX8#/colors360

http://automobiles.honda.com/civic-si-coupe/exterior.aspx

http://www.acura.com/PhotoGallery.aspx?model=TSX&modelYear=2010&context=photos-videos#/image11

http://www.nissanusa.com/altimacoupe/?next=See_All-Vehicles:VLP

Please note that I have no clue what I am doing, have done little research, etc.  I clearly need a conference call with Dad!  Also, I have to forward this to Jamie C., as she’s a car wizard.

Please also note that while I’d be okay having a nice car. . . I value travel more than cars. . . and value being able to put a bigger down-payment on my next house more than cars.

Must. try. to. sleep. and. ignore. self-loathingness.

Responses

  1. Go for the Altima. My friend has one and it is one sweet ride.

    And I hear ya on the craptastic-ness. Things will get better. They always do.

  2. my brother has an altima and he loves it.
    our next car is going to be one of those 4 door jeep wranglers. as soon as my jeep is paid off…

  3. My advice, stay away from the Mazda… You will probably get the best value out of the Acura or Honda but I think you would look really hot in the Altima ;)…

  4. oh, good timing! i’m car shopping too.

    here is my insight: be careful with 2 door cars. jk has a 2 door and the doors are so heavy that i can hardly get in and out of it. i HATE driving it for this reason. also i cannot see jack crap b/c it rides too low. BUT…i am extremely short so this might not be a universal problem.

    my mom has an altima (different model) and LOVES it.

    just looking at them i love the acura! 🙂

    i’m looking at cr-v’s, subaru forester, nissan rogue, or ford escape (if my bleeding heart wins out). i MIGHT have to put a baby in this car. someday. maybe?

  5. I have an 07 Altima (the 4 dr) and LOOOOVE IIIIIIT. This isn’t MY car, but it’s the same thing: http://images04.olx.com/ui/2/78/59/f_37246959_1.jpeg

    IDK how you feel about used cars, but if you don’t want to spend a lot on a car, you could always try that route…

    Good luck with the search!

  6. Whatever you get make sure the personalize it with flames running down the sides…sexy!

  7. wait a minute, i thought you were going to get that shock top car.
    my brother has the 4 door 2.5 s and it has that keyless push button starter. i wish my car had that (just b/c it’s fun).

  8. The Acura is a great car…but more expensive. I don’t have any personal experience with the Altima, but what I have heard is all very positive and Nissan makes very good cars.

  9. KC, I have the push button thing! It’s super fun, but it can be a bit annoying when you get home and have to dig around in your purse for the keys to get into the house (since you don’t already have them in your hand when you get out of the car).

    You don’t even need the fob thing to lock the car. As long as it’s within 30 inches of the car, you can lock it with the button on the door.


Leave a Reply

Categories

