Posted by: illinigirl | August 17, 2009

Little too tall, coulda used a few pounds

One of my fb friends did this. . . You put your itunes of shuffle and write the first word of every song for 20 songs. . . and the 21st song’s first line becomes your title.  She’s into cool music and is 16 years old and such.  Her poem was so lovely and seriously cool.  With my train wreck of an itunes collection, this is not possible.

The genre of country makes this a difficult thing.  It’s weird though. . . I did this last night to see how messed up mine would be, but I mostly got alternative songs.  Tonight, you’d think my entire collection was George Strait, Les Mis’, and REO.  Unfortunately, I didn’t write down last night’s. . . I was laughing so hard when I got to Frosty the Snowman that I stopped!. . .

Here it is. . .

Little too tall, coulda used a few pounds

To the left, to the left, to the left, to the left, to the left, to the left, everything you own in a box to the left.
Took your car, drove to Texas.
Do you hear the people sing. . . singing the song of angry men?
Down in Louisiana, bayous by and by, a pirogue pole or your natural soul keeps you tied to a tree high tide.

Heard it from a friend who, heard it from a friend who, heard it from another you’d be messin’ around.
This town ain’t big, this town ain’t small.
I lost her trail on a Friday night.  She was gone before I got home.
You wait, wanting this world to let you in.

I can’t fight this feelin’ any longer.
You say your every day is a bad dream that keeps repeatin.
Now I’m all alone again, nowhere to run no one to turn to.
Right now, he’s probably slow dancin with a bleach blonde tramp and she’s probably gettin frisky.

I made it through the wilderness.
I never liked this Apple much.
If you leave me, I won’t miss you.
When I think of Heaven, deliver me in a black-winged bird, I think of flying.

Responses

  1. i never like this apple much…what song is that from? i think i know the rest.

  2. Is it a BNL song?

  3. Nevermind, definitely NOT BNL…just looked it up. KC, it’s John Mayer.

  4. YEP! DING, DING, DING. . . GW wins!

    P.S.–I finally learned what a pirogue is. . . a type of boat they use in Louisiana! This blogging thing is SO educational! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

