Posted by: illinigirl | July 28, 2009

God Bless America

And the freedom to stay out all night, have a few beers, dance, and listen to bad karaoke.

This pretty much sums up my trip to D.C. . . oh, those things and the Holocaust Museum.  (Which of these things is not like the other?)

I will talk about the Holocaust Museum in a separate post because yeah. . .

Got in Friday night and headed off to a late dinner.  On our way, we had our first random encounter.  A guy and his boyfriend were apparently in a fight (both black–this is relevant, not a dumb racial tag to add on to something).  One guy was walking in a huff down the sidewalk. . . and the other guy was walking quickly after him.  The guy chasing him says to us, “NEVER date a black guy.”  We started cracking up, and Liz said, “IT’S HAPPENING ALREADY!!!”  🙂

Friday night went to a cool bar with approximately 10738017098731 types of beer.  Too bad I was exhausted and sucked at drinking.  I had approximately 1.5 beers.  Despite the fact that we were tired and drank at a snail’s pace, we managed to stay till ~2:00 a.m.  Nice.  I do not have all the pictures, nor the energy to post them, BUT we spent a ridiculous amount of time trying to take pictures of ourselves and laughing hysterically at the results.  We were deliriously tired!

The next day, we finally forced ourselves awake and went to brunch at a great place near Liz’ hotel.  We got pretty champagne drinks!  I must say that I don’t really like mimosas, but this was champagne, parrot bay something or other, cranberry juice or something. . . and other stuff.  Good.

Then to the museum. . . and then to see the Hangover again because we needed a laugh.

Random D.C. pics. . .

Obligatory Capital shot!  (P.S.--Ive done practically everything in D.C. so I didnt do any of the touristy stuff other than the Holocaust Museum)

Obligatory Capital shot! (P.S.--I've done practically everything in D.C. so I didn't do any of the touristy stuff other than the Holocaust Museum)

THEN, we headed to Alexandra.  I’ve never been there, but it’s super cool.  Very quaint, on the water, lots of funky shops and seafood restaurants. . . very “New Englandish”. . . so I loved it.  Made me feel like I was in Portland, Maine!

We originally booked this hotel as a plan to thwart an attempt of Liz’ co-worker to invade the whole weekend, as she did when others visited.  It was a delicate situation and difficult to avoid, as she had a hotel room right near Liz’. . . hard to sneak out or make other plans!  We booked a hotel called the Hotel Monaco. . . . way cool.  A boutique hotel right in the middle of Old Town.  This avoidance technique was spectacular because it turned out to be a supa-fun Saturday!

We started out by going to dinner at an Italian place. . . awesome!  I was surrounded by pictures of Venice!  I asked the waiter if he was Venetian. . . um, no. . . how about Palestinian?  Ha!  He said that people always assume he’s Italian.  Even people from Italy!

Afterwards, we went to a place called “Rock It Grill”. . . Picture. . . a karaoke place reminiscent of Kam’s for 30-40 year olds.  Awesome.  We danced a lot there and had some beer.  Again, I didn’t drink that much but was SO DELIRIOUSLY TIRED.  Who needs beer when you’re drunk off tired?  One of Liz’ husband’s best friends lives in Alexandra, so we met up with him and his friends here.  Fun and hilarious times!  I was so sore the next day after this bar. . . I think it’s because of all the crazy dancing I did with Dave and Joel.  Holy hell, they threw us around!  We danced a lot and laughed a lot. . . fun times.  The older dorkier white guys were the best.  One such man did “Sean Paul”. . . somewhat AMAZING.  Seriously, I was in shock.

Then we had to go back to our hotels and take pictures because. . . our fish arrived!  Yes, at this hotel, you could request a goldfish in your room!  Also, they had animal print robes!  Check out the pictures of this funky hotel. . .

Us in front of the mantle in the lobby

Us in front of the mantle in the lobby

Light in lobby

Light in lobby

Our fish!

Our fish!

Liz and I with our fish!  HA!

Liz and I with our fish! HA!

Liz and I posing seductively in our animal print robes. . . rawr!

Liz and I posing seductively in our animal print robes. . . rawr!

Flipping fish probably ran up our bill with the room service!

Flipping fish probably ran up our bill with the room service!

My champagne drink on Sunday morning. . . with muddled raspberries. . . delicious!

My champagne drink with muddled raspberries!

Lizzle with her champagne drink with muddled peaches and such!

Alexandria!

Alexandria!

Fun, fun, fun times!  I wish I would have had more time. . . but such is the life for the girl who loves to travel but is running out of vacation time. . . weekend trips, here I come!

Thank you, queenlizzle for letting me come and play with you!

Responses

  1. I loved this whole post (b/c I travel vicariously through your trips, since I’m pretty sure we aren’t going anywhere cool for a long, long time), but I especially enjoyed your detailed description of a mimosa. I’ll follow that recipe next time 😛

  2. YAY! that was a fun post to folllow up a fun trip. thank you so much for a much needed AWESOME weekend. our times are few and far between but always awesome!!!!

    p.s. never date a black man! ha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

