Posted by: illinigirl | July 20, 2009

Where do the people who live *here* go for vacation?

Last year while kayaking in GORGEOUS Lake Tahoe, my friends and I thought. . . where do these people go on vacation?  When you live in such an unbelievable place, aren’t most other places a letdown?

land3

hankayak

Being from the Midwest. . . vacations were someplace to go and see beautiful things.  NOT to say that Illinois is not beautiful, but it’s a different type of beautiful.  Not the “Oh Wow” moments in New Hampshire, Maine, Tahoe, Austria, Italy. . . you get it. . . We went on vacation for educational reasons and such, too.  We would usually mix some sort of an amusement/wildlife park with educational stuff like presidents’ homes, historical landmarks, etc.

If someone from Tahoe or New Hampshire drove through Illinois though. . . they’d probably say, *Yawn. . . keep driving.*

I am okay with this.  I love my state, but it’s never going to sweep the nation as a #1 vacation destination.  One of my friend’s at work has a favorite joke about Illinois.  He lived there for a while, and took a cab the first time he flew in for an interview.  My friend said, “Where do people go for vacations here?”. . . and the cab driver said, “Out of state.” . . . well, this is true.

At the same time, someone from Tahoe or another beautiful spot could surely never say that he or she really never needs to leave the area because their area is so great, right???  Some do, I’m sure. . . but this astounds me.  I see this a lot in big cities, too. . . and it may not all be snobbery. . . some of it is probably money.  Some NYC people think they are all that because of all the stuff they are exposed to. . . but have never been outside the city or the state!  Yes. . . I’ve seen this attitude MANY times from “city folk”. . .

I found this article interesting. . .

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20090709/lf_nm_life/us_france_tourists

Basically, it states that the French tourists are the worst.  One of the quotes in the article really bothers me:

“The French don’t go abroad very much. We’re lucky enough to have a country which is magnificent in terms of its landscape and culture,” he said, adding that 90 per cent of French people did their traveling at home. –Timothee de Roux

Okay, maybe your country *is* all that. . . I’ve never been there, so I can’t say. . . but seriously, to say this is so completely arrogant and so narrow-minded.  If it works for you, that’s great, but seriously?

Makes me glad I grew up in a small town in Illinois so I can appreciate the cultures and landscapes of other places.  🙂

Responses

  1. Maia grew up in Tahoe (as you well know) and always vacationed out of the country. Now that we live in WI guess where we vacation??? Tahoe!! BTW, I have driven from tip to tip in Illinois and “Yawn…keep driving” is very accurate. Did you know that people from WI hate people from IL?? I find this odd but I tell people that I can’t partake in this nonsense because my good friend Hannah is from IL… I tell you what, if Wisconsinites think the Dells puts us over the top they need to venture out of the midwest…

  2. Amen to your last statement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

