Posted by: illinigirl | July 9, 2009

Venice–Day #3 (afternoon and evening portion)

And. . . one of my final posts (although I’m sure I will still post some pictures or stories here and there). . . my sister is OVER these posts. . . but Liz and I are not. . . so there.  🙂

After Burano, we came back to do our gondola ride. . . and of course, we pick the only time of the trip it’s RAINING.  Oh well.

First we had some gelato. . . so good. . .

Heres me with my last gelato

Here's me with my last gelato

Heres me when I realized this was probably my *last* gelato

Here's me when I realized this was probably my *last* gelato

And the gondola pics begin!  I’ll just do a few because I have a video.  🙂

Gondolas are fancy.  :)

Gondolas are fancy. 🙂

Off and away!

Off and away!

:)

🙂

The Realto Bridge

The Realto Bridge. I hate the banner. . . and there was construction on the Bridge of Sighs. Not good for photos!

I really like this one. . .

I really like this one. . . under the Realto Bridge

There were some tight squeezes. . .

There were some tight squeezes. . .

There were people staring at us on every bridge (this was a bit odd). . .

There were people staring at us on every bridge (this was a bit odd). . . Maybe they had us mistaken for Lindsay Lohan and the girl from Twilight? Happens all the time.

We also saw umbrellas and people all dressed up. . .

We also saw umbrellas and people all dressed up. . .

My dorky video!

Liz and I with another gondolier. . . love the hat, dont you?  :)

Liz and I with another gondolier. . . love the hat, don't you? 🙂

For our last night, we went to dinner at an awesome place. . . and tried to settle in and start packing, seeing as we had to catch a 3:44 a.m. boat to the airport and had a 2:45 a.m. wake-up call.  Fun times!  :\

What an awesome trip.  I wouldn’t change a thing!  Thank you Liz for putting up with me and agreeing to go on this trip!  This was always a dream of mine, and I’m so happy it came true!  Now. . . let’s go again!  🙂  Thanks also to Shane for hanging out with us in Rome!

I’m going to consolidate all of my posts into one post. . . for the benefit of me and Liz. . . and anyone we may want to send one link to so they can see all of our adventures in one place.

Responses

  1. […] Venice–Day 3 (gondola) […]

  2. Long live Italia! (Sorry Sarah). It has been fun reliving our trip through your posts. I’m always game for another adventure….anytime and almost anywhere.

    PS – How nice….I have like a chipmunk face in the photo of us with the gondolier. I’m blaming allergies or maybe it was all that pizza and pasta. 🙂

  3. Gondola! GONDOLAAA!!! The shouts still haunt my dreams.

    Actually we loved it – good times!


Leave a Reply

Categories

