Posted by: illinigirl | June 29, 2009

Venice–Day 2 (I swear, I’m almost finished!)

I kinda like spreading this out though b/c I get to relive a little each week.  😉

First, we had dinner outside our hotel.  Super cool. . . except for a STUPID pigeon, of course.

Our hotel was in a quiet little courtyard, even though it was not far from the action of St. Mark’s Square.

Our hotel

Our hotel

We decided to do a guided tour of the city that day because a) We really sadly knew nothing about the city and b) The tour went into St. Mark’s, and you didn’t have to stand in line for it.  The tour kinda sucked because our lady talked a million miles an hour and was completely disjointed, but I did get some things out of it (It’s been a LOOONG time since I’ve had history classes so at least it gave me some clue of what happened in Venice. . .

In a *small* nutshell, Venice represents a city of conflict.  Constantly taking other areas over and being taken over. . . but a very powerful city.  At one point (don’t remember when, but probably ~ the 13th century, based on what I’ve read, Venice was more wealthy than the entire country of France!  Venice was a huge center of trade between the East and West. . . and Marco Polo lived there. . . Also, Casanova lived there. . . and ALL over Europe.  I need to read more about Venice because it’s really interesting.  I find the whole “Venice is sinking” stuff intriguing. .  pretty interesting how they try and protect the city and the projects they have to deal with this. . . I need to read more about it.

A cool clock tower in St. Marks Square

A cool clock tower in St. Mark's Square

St. Mark again

St. Mark's symbol again

After the tour, we went to catch a boat to Murano. . . here are some pics on the way:

Liz made the fatal and wonderful error of beginning the “Twilight” series on the plane to Italy.  Why was this fatal?  Because if you finish the first book (which you do, quickly), you NEEEEEED the 2nd book. . . PRONTO!  Problem. . . we are in Italy. . . where books are in Italian, and people are probably not falling all over teenage vampires.  We scoured the bookstores for “New Moon”. . . and finally, on the last day, we FOUND IT!  🙂  Liz got entertainment for the flight home. . . which blinded her in the end, because she read the book for like 15 hours nonstop.

This bookstore was not a success. . . as the books there all seemed to be circa 1563. . . however, the owner was comical, as you can see in his humor below.

The store had foot print all over it. . . and then they got some flippers!

The store had foot print all over it. . . and then they got some flippers!

Ha!

Ha!

The owner also asked if we were from England.  Interesting.  I must have been doing my best Bridget Jones?

Artists sketching on a bridge. . .

Artists sketching on a bridge. . .

We then took a boat to Murano. . . home of Murano glass!  Oh my goodness. . . Venice and Murano are glass OVERLOAD.  Really amazing stuff. . . Liz and I both wanted to drop a million dollars on stuff. . . but ended up being sensible.  SUCH beautiful platters and vases.  I’m convinced my parties would be that much more successful if my food was served on amazing platters.  Hmmmmm.

Went to a workshop here and watched a glass-blowing demonstration

Went to a workshop here and watched a glass-blowing demonstration

The door to the workshop

The door to the workshop

A close-up of the door. . . how cool. . . all glass

A close-up of the door. . . how cool. . . all glass

A guy making a vase

A guy making a vase

They whipped this horse up in a matter of minutes.  So effortless. . . Crazy.

They whipped this horse up in a matter of minutes. So effortless. . . Crazy.

The showroom for this workshop. . . gorgeous. . .

The showroom for this workshop. . . gorgeous. . .

Shops in Murano

Shops in Murano

More shots in Murano

More shots in Murano

Back to Venice for dinner (after a wonderful sour cherry gelato in Murano)!

Food was so-so. . . but I liked the atmosphere!

Food was so-so. . . but I liked the atmosphere!

More pics in Venice!

More pics in Venice!

I basically took this picture for my dad. . . doesnt this look like Coach K on this political poster?  I threw up in my mouth a little when I saw it.

I basically took this picture for my dad. . . doesn't this look like Coach K on this political poster? I threw up in my mouth a little when I saw it.

Liz and I on the Realto.  I was NOT photogenic this trip and started a new phenomenon called stroke victim face. . . what the hell?  At least, Liz looks good!

Liz and I on the Realto. I was NOT photogenic this trip and started a new phenomenon called "stroke victim face". Someday, I will have the courage to show you that frightening picture. . . what the hell? At least, Liz looks good!

ooooh preeeety

ooooh preeeety

Gondolier in the pink sky. 🙂

And this marks the end to another fabulous day. . . (well, the end of the pictures. . . of course, desserts had to be procured for the evening)!  I think there was a gelato for Han and cannolis for Liz!

Responses

  1. I just love your recaps of our trip. Sadly, all I remember from our walking tour of venice – sad as this is – is the crazy couple that randomly joined our tour midway through and how the lady pointed out that all the corners in venice smell like pee.

    Thanks again for putting up with me and my twilight madness, especially after I dragged you to every bookstore that existed in Venice. Such a true friend.

    Fortunately, the stroke victim face didn’t make it into any of my pictures. I’m sure it is not THAT bad.

  2. this makes me want to research venice now. i love it.

  3. […] Venice–Day 2 (Murano) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

