Posted by: illinigirl | June 22, 2009

Venice–Day 1 (It’s about flippin’ time, right?)

We’ve been to Rome. . . and Florence. . . and had a fabo time, and now it’s time for Venice!  Venice was the location that I’d done the least amount of research about or planning for. . . and we were there for three days.  The only thing we knew we really wanted to do was go to the islands of Murano and Burano, which was fine because we were kinda glad to be able to be a lot more low-key and do less running than our previous stops.

So. . . we were in the train station in Florence waiting to catch our train. . . and this is when I realize that I have made a fatal error.  In planning this trip, I made a nifty excel spreadsheet, where I could save information for each city in different tabs. . . apparently, when I copied and pasted the map for our hotel into excel, the margins in excel were not big enough. . . so I was missing approximately two inches of the map. . . and yes, this would be the two inches that get us from our boat stop to our hotel.  There are not “streets” per se. . . piazzas and such. . . but the piazza that we needed was not marked on any map.  Awesome.  Everyone gets lost in Venice, even WITH maps. . . so this is not good.

We get to the train station and do the whole boat thing. . . I at least knew the general direction we should walk. . . but that’s all. . . We walked down a few sidewalks and turned a few times and arrived in a small piazza with a hotel.  I said, “Okay, this hotel is a similar name to our hotel, but it’s not our hotel. . . but I am going to go into this place and have them help to point us in the right direction.”

Imagine my SHOCK, when. . . THAT HOTEL WAS OUR HOTEL!!!  Talk about dumb luck!  I am still in shock about this.  God must love us because Lord knows we got lost many other times in Venice when we actually had some sort of a *clue* where we were going!  🙂

The weird thing was that it was quite chilly in Venice. . . I never thought I would have a day without SWEATING on this trip!

Another random thing. . . I am not really a big animal fan. . . but I would seriously have a dog if I lived in Venice.  The Venetian dogs are so good!  Very few were on leashes. . . they were just super chill and super cute.  I took four pictures of dogs (and wished I would have taken more), if that tells you anything.  One dog that we took a picture of that both Liz and I thought was cute, appears to be homeless and missing fur on second glance.  Oops.  I won’t share that one. . . BUT, this was my favorite pic. . . this dog is chillin’ on a gondola. .  what a life!

Life is so rough. . .

Life is so rough. . .

We mostly walked around the first day. . . taking pictures and looking at glass. . . the GLASS is beautiful. . . and we probably went in 90% of the 179017230713 shops in Venice!  It was fun though!  🙂

Here are some shots from the first day. . .

St. Marks

St. Marks

One of the many murals on the outside of St. Marks

One of the many murals on the outside of St. Mark's

Another side of St. Marks

Another side of St. Mark's

The symbol of St. Mark (the lion with wings) is all over St. Marks Square. . .

The symbol of St. Mark (the lion with wings) is all over St. Mark's Square. . .

A bit of the Realto Bridge

A bit of the Realto Bridge

The Grand Canal

The Grand Canal

I dont know what this place is. .  but it looked cool.  Its not on the Island of Venice. . .

I don't know what this place is. . but it looked cool. It's not on the Island of Venice. . .

That night, we went to dinner (world’s FASTEST dinner because neither of us liked our food that much–a rarity and a tragedy!). . . so we went in search of dessert.  On our way, we saw this cool hotel in a little walkway, this was gated off, but I got some pictures. . . a really cool place.

I love these pictures. . . this church was our saving grace many times.  When we saw it, we knew where we were!!!

I love these pictures. . . this church was our saving grace many times. When we saw it, we knew where we were!!!

love it.

love it.

I loved Venice at night. . . I love this picture, but it's difficult to see. . . so I did an effect on the next one. . . but I like this original.

I loved Venice at night. . . magic! I will have to go back with a cute boy some day (no offense, Liz. . . you were great company. . . I'm just don't like you *that* way.) 😉

My favorite part of this night that made me laugh myself into tears. . . was when a cute boy standing outside a restaurant (working and trying to get people to come in and eat) started singing loudly as Liz and I walked by in a thick Italian accent, “I kissed a girl, and I liked it!”. . . BWAHAHA. .  . it was just hilarious.  I was distraught because I wished we hadn’t eaten already. . . or he would have sold me on the place just with that serenade.  Hilarious.

Goodnight!

Responses

  1. beautiful!
    where are the pics of you guys in the gondolas?

  2. I loved getting lost in Venice. Just started walking one day, and roamed for hours. A few cities in the world seem to have a vibe to them, and Venice is definately one of the best. We will return!

  3. I heart Venice. And yes, I am up early because I am too excited for Colorado to sleep!

  4. […] Venice–Day 1 (General pics) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

