Posted by: illinigirl | June 2, 2009

Rome–Night 2

So as we were leaving the Vatican., we ran into. . . a parade?  It appeared to be in honor of the Pope. . . and appeared to have the Italian military. . . and tons of other countries in their native costumes.  Interesting. . .

beginning of the parade

beginning of the parade

We headed back further into the center of town for dinner. . . in our new favorite area around the Pantheon.  See the columns to the right in this picture?

This was my dinner. .  which was really good. . . except, I suck at eating lobster.  I would prefer that it is already cracked, separated, and mixed in with my meal, thank you.  🙂  I made a HUGE mess!!!

I loved the Lambrusco we were drinking. . . so delicious!  Shane had me pose with his hat with the Lambrusco.  Seriously, it was amazing. . .

goodness

goodness

Next, we went for Gelato. . . (duh). . . and stopped in my favorite cute little church because there seemed to be something going on. . . Yep, it was the Drury University choir from Springfield, MO. . . beginning a concert in five minutes!  I was super impressed.  The church was beautiful inside, and they sounded great.  I did not want to use a flash in the church. . . so my pics are craptastic. . . but I did take a video.  You may vomit after watching this, as the camera work is so bad.  Also, the lighting was really low.  Eh, just listen to them singing and close your eyes.  😉

After that, we took our show on the road and went to the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps at night. . .

Well, there’s a legend about the Trevi Fountain. . .  see Wikipedia. . . http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trevi_Fountain

Coin throwing

A traditional legend holds that if visitors throw a coin into the fountain, they are ensured a return to Rome. Among those who are unaware that the “three coins” of Three Coins in the Fountain were thrown by three different individuals, a reported current interpretation is that two coins will lead to a new romance and three will ensure either a marriage or divorce. A reported current version of this legend is that it is lucky to throw three coins with one’s right hand over one’s left shoulder into the Trevi Fountain.

Trevi Fountain at Night

Trevi Fountain at Night

We had to oblige and throw some coins in the fountain. . . because, hey. . . I at least want a trip to Rome!  I did not have any luck finding my Italian lover. . . but one never knows.  😉

Liz and I threw our coins, and then an Italian man watching us informed us that we needed to do it OVER our shoulders. . . and not just a toss.  Just being stupid, I actually did throw one over my shoulder not knowing that this was the “right” way. . . So I threw two more coins for a total of five to ENSURE that these wishes counted!  😉

Dreaming about our Italian lovas. . . :)

Dreaming about our Italian lovas. . . 🙂

The Spanish Steps. . .

The Spanish Steps. . .

Okay, so we’ve got up and down more than 460 steps. . .  (that’s just counting the Cupola and the Spanish Steps). . . there were many more steps. . . and much more walking.  Can we say SORE?

Here’s the great irony of it all. . . our hotel room had steps from the door to the bathroom and the bathroom to the bed. . . so you you have to pee in the middle of the night, steps.  Fun.  I was walking up and down them like I was drunk and riding a horse, wincing with each step!  It was really awesome in the middle of the night!  😐

Stupid stairs

Stupid flipping stairs

Responses

  1. […] Rome–Night 2 (Pantheon area, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

