Posted by: illinigirl | May 31, 2009

Rome–Day 1

Here are some of the main stories and pictures from our first day that I find entertaining.  Please note that Liz is my best friend that I went to grad school with and now lives in California. . . and Shane is her friend who is living in Germany and met us in Rome.  Please also note that we did not sleep on the flight there. . . despite getting ridiculously little sleep the night before!  One time, I fell asleep for 15 min, but dinner was coming so I had to wake up.  . . the other time I was asleep for 20 minutes. . . and a large plastic vent came crashing down from the plane ceiling on the floor and scared the CRAP out of me.  No one was hurt, but the sound scared me to death!

Our hotel in Rome was great. . . nothing fancy, but a great location, clean place, with helpful staff. . . well, maybe *too* helpful at times.  The front desk guy during the day was a nice enough guy. . . but we are pretty sure he was hitting on us 90% of the time.  He always said stuff like “I hope to see more of you”. . . and we were trying to decide if that meant he wanted to see us more often. . . or with less clothing?  😉  No ladies, he was not very attractive!  😦

Our hotel rooftop. .  which would have been lovely to hang out on, if it werent hotter than blue blazes!

Our hotel rooftop. . which would have been lovely to hang out on, if it weren't hotter than blue blazes!

We dropped our stuff off, did a short trip to the Trevi Fountain, and Shane met us at our hotel. . . then we went to lunch, and I had pizza.

Trevi Fountain--built in 1762. . . relatively new!

Trevi Fountain--built in 1762. . . relatively new!

Pizza--All the pizzas here are HUGE.  I could never eat much more than half!

Pizza--All the pizzas here are HUGE. I could never eat much more than half!

After that, we started going through my Rome, Day by Day book and tried to see all the things we should see if we only had one day in Rome.  Wow.  Can we say. . . busy, busy?  This was good though. .  b/c we were trying to stay awake after not sleeping and landing in Rome ~8:00 a.m.!

First, the Capitoline Hill. . . the beginning of LOTS of steps and LOTS of walking. . . 🙂

On our way, we saw the Victor Emmanuel Monument (we didnt know what this was, and referred to it our entire stay there as the big white thing)

On our way, we saw the Victor Emmanuel Monument (we didn't know what this was, and referred to it our entire stay there as "the big white thing")

Capitoline Hill

Capitoline Hill

I love how youll just be walking by a doorway and see a giant statue like this inside!

I love how you'll just be walking by a doorway and see a giant statue like this inside!

Then, the Forum. . . pretty. flipping. amazing.

Me at the Forum

Me at the Forum

Forgive me. . . was trying to get some construction stuff or something out of the background so this looks goofy

Arch of Septimius Severus--AD 203. . . HOLY COW, right? (Forgive me. . . was trying to get some construction stuff or something out of the background so this looks goofy)

Look at the detail underneath

Look at the detail underneath

. . . and the detail on the side panels

. . . and the detail on the side panels

I cant tell what building this is.  I have tons of pictures like this though.  Some of them have extremely interesting purposes. . . like the House of Vestal Virgins. . . where girls between 6 and 10 years old were selected=

I can't tell what building this is. I have tons of pictures like this though. Some of them have extremely interesting purposes. . . like the House of Vestal Virgins. . . where girls between 6 and 10 years old were selected to guard the flame for Vesta (goddess of fire) and serve a term of 30 years.

Had my first encounter with one of my arch-enemies. . .

Stupid birds

Stupid birds

Then went to the Collosseum.  Did I mention it was HOT???  Ugh!

The Collosseum

The Colosseum

A ridiculous photo op that I could not resist.  :)

A ridiculous photo op that I could not resist. 🙂

Note that I have 800 pictures, and I am not posting them all here or I will spend the rest of my life doing so. . . I’m just putting *some* of the photos, and later, I’ll give you a website where you can see all of them!

Time to walk home and clean up for dinner.  Liz and I have not slept (or showered) at this point, and have been walking around in the heat for hours.  Our dinner that night was so-so. . . but I’m glad we ate in the area that we did. . . because we ended up walking around and finding lots of other cool areas nearby!

This was the coolest thing about the piazza we ate at. . .

I loved this flower market!  I thought I took some full-color pictures there. . . but I guess I just played around with the color accent feature of my camera.  This one was my favorite.

I found one of my favorite cute, little churches in Rome that night

We saw the Pantheon from the outside for the first of many times.  WAY COOL.

We loved the area around the Pantheon!

We loved the area around the Pantheon!

So cool. . . please forgive the crappy camera work.  I’m always working so fast to try and capture the moment!  Someday, I’ll be better!

And I fell in love. . . with chocolate mousse gelato!

Mmmmmmm

Mmmmmmm

This store had like. . . 1 million more choices.

This store had like. . . 1 million more choices.

This picture is scary of me after a long day, but I will share it because Shane hasn’t been in a picture yet!  I’m taking a bite of my delicious gelato!

I will make it really small so my scariness is less noticeable

I will make it really small so my scariness is less noticeable

And. . . here’s my favorite cute, little church at night. . .

Love it. . . St. Maria Maddalena

Love it. . . St. Maria Maddalena

Tomorrow, if I’m not too tired. . . the Vatican is next!  The highlight of our Rome portion of the trip!

Responses

  1. these are so cool…i love reading your travel posts (especially since i never go anywhere)!

    bennett just saw that last picture and asked, “is that night at the museum?” (he just saw the second movie at the theater this weekend!)

  2. i used to buy flowers at the flower market in amsterdam and bring them home for friends/family b/c they were so cheap. plus they had the best tulips.
    gorgeous pictures. can’t wait to see more.

  3. i think the the orang-y brown very large building with a bunch of arched openings in the background of one of your pics is of part of Palatine Hill –

    From this website: http://sights.seindal.dk/sight/242_Palatine_Hill.html

    “Roman mythology indicates the western side of the Palatine Hill as the site of the dwelling of Romulus, and the cave where Romulus and Remus were supposed to have been raised by the she-wolf was on the western slope of the hill. During the republican era the Palatine Hill was the perferred quater for the ruling elite, and this tradition was continued when the roman emperors built their palaces on the hill. In the end the imperial palaces covered the entire hill.” –

  4. […] Rome–Day 1 (Ancient Rome) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

