Posted by: illinigirl | May 19, 2009

Home Depot

You know how at the bottom of your Home Depot receipts, you can enter a survey and try and win $5,000 of Home Depot merchandise?

I almost always fill these out.  I’ve probably filled out a hundred of these, because what could be better than winning $5,000 to use on your home?

Now, I love my house and am overall pleased and comfortable with it.  There are a few things that I need to paint and such that I just haven’t had time to deal with. . . just touch-ups of woodwork, like baseboards.

But. . . I dream about major projects (that I can’t justify right now).

What would I do if I won the $5,000?  I have a laundry list of considerations. . . (Keep in mind that you can also have contractors for Home Depot install this stuff.)

  • Pull up the carpet on my staircase and on the 2nd floor.  Get nicer carpet. . . OR. . . hardwoods and some nice area rugs.  Dark wood would look so great upstairs!
  • Get all new appliances.
  • Install a pocket door in my bedroom.  (I LOVE my bedroom, for me. . . but if I was a couple, I don’t think I’d like the open concept between bedroom and vanity (shower and toilet have their own room.)

  • And part of me. . . would want to put this towards ripping out the wall between my kitchen and dining room, and making it all one room. . . and just gutting the whole kitchen accordingly!  (Someone in my condo complex did this, and it looks GREAT). . . This would be EXPENSIVE. . . but I could put the $5,000 towards it.

What would YOU do if you won the $5,000 for your house???

Responses

  1. P.S.–I HATE the double spacing on my mac when I use WP. It dose it completely randomly (and then, apparently, with bullets). . . I am going to go postal with this and need to get some help.

  2. Man-cave in the basement with a bathroom that was equipped with only urinals (the kind that go all the way to the floor)…

  3. if i had $5000 to put towards my house i would try to put it on my mortgage so i that i will have only lost 995,000 instead of 1,000,000 dollars.

  4. Oooh, this is easy:

    –Paint house and garage
    –Professional landscaping out front (or just landscape consultation
    –New sidewalk/driveway/steps out front

    Of course, these are all OUTSIDE projects, but that’s what I’m obsessed with at the moment.

  5. love the urinal response…i so want some in my house for these boys.

    if i had $5000 to spend on my house…hmm…there are SO many things. but i think i’d put it towards a new roof (if you can buy those at home depot). ours is 12 years old, and not leaking or anything, but it’s butt ugly.

  6. where to begin?
    fix our house where our dog ate it.
    and then paint the entire thing.

  7. Buy $5000 worth of power tools, and bask in all the man glory….. DUH!


Leave a Reply

Categories

