Posted by: illinigirl | May 17, 2009

Love

I’ve heard two excellent homilies in church this week about love.

Father Joe’s homily at my Grandpa’s funeral was about love.  It was about how not all acts of love are grand, heroic deeds. . . they are the little sacrifices you make day to day that may go unnoticed to the rest of the world.  It’s funny though. . . when Father was talking, I didn’t think about my grandpa.  I thought about my grandma, my mom, my aunts and uncles, my dad, my sister, etc. . . I thought about my grandma and what she did day-in/day-out to care for Grandpa and how her life was not her own. . . I thought about my mom, and all the free time she gave up to spend with Grandpa, all the research she did, all the doctors appointments, all the difficult conversations she had to have with him to explain what he would be going through as the disease slowly affected every part of him. . . I think of my aunt, who came over nearly every night to help put Grandpa to bed. . . and my sister who made food and came over nearly every Sunday to help.  This is love.  None of them would have it any other way, but you bet. . . it was difficult.  This is true love.

The homily today was about love as well, as the Gospel was about Jesus’ last words to his disciples before being arrested was the command to “love one another”.  Father Robbins talked about how much of the “love” we see on TV isn’t love.  Love isn’t usually newsworthy, and it’s a sacrifice that often has little reward.  He said that with love, you may get something good in return, but you also die a little, and suffer some pain. . . like when you have to punish your child and put up with him or her being mad at you for a while because in the long run, you know you are doing the right thing for him or her.

Being a single girl, I sometimes forget this.  I get wrapped up in my own thing. . . My life is about ME.  I don’t often make sacrifices for others.  Sure, I do my charity stuff, and it does take time and energy. . . but these homilies were great reminders of what love really is. . . and all the things I need to work on!

Makes all the manufactured love on reality TV look so dumb. . . except for this.  This is love.  🙂

Responses

  1. That Amazing Race clip had me all choked up. Not sure if I can even read your grandpa post yet….

    • I know, Cari. . . totally makes me cry. What an awesome example they were in so many ways. Grandpa post is not too sad. . . mostly dorky. 😉

  2. […] being and staying “in love” so much more than a feeling you have. My friend Hannah had a beautiful post about what love really is in the wake of her grandfather’s death that I highly […]

  3. Thanks for sharing that video. It was very inspiring.

    And I agree wholeheartedly with this statement: “…not all acts of love are grand, heroic deeds. . . they are the little sacrifices you make day to day that may go unnoticed to the rest of the world.” That is definitely true. The most loving people that I know are not rich or famous or “successful” by our culture’s standards, but they give of themselves so fully in little tasks…every single day.

  4. […] https://illinigirl.wordpress.com/2009/05/17/love/ […]

  5. […] In other news, as a reminder about what love really is. . . I reread my favorite post about what love means to me. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

