Posted by: illinigirl | April 20, 2009

Good thing for a skinny girl, I have a decent-sized bum

If that’s not an attention-grabbing title, I’m not sure what is. . .

This is another entry that will be “oversharing” to some. . . but that’s okay.  My oversharing entries tend to resonate the most with people so whatever.  I’m weird and do dorky stuff, and that’s what makes me. . . me.  🙂

So I’ve been having issues lately with one of my bras where the strap just pops out of it’s hook and is hanging. . .  a comfortable feeling in public, let me tell ya!  It’s happened twice lately so I trashed that and remedied the situation while shopping today.

Anyways, this reminded me of another uncomfortable time like this:  undergrad graduation.

I wore a dress with spaghetti straps to graduation, under the graduation gown, of course.  I wore a strapless bra with it.  Old, but fine. . . it worked. . .

UNTIL. . . I was sitting in graduation, and I felt the elastic give out completely.  Um, okay, that’s uncomfortable.

Then, it was finally time to process up and go across the stage. . . but my bra is quickly sliding, sliding, sliding. . . then by the time I was to the stage, my bra was sitting around my waist.

All I kept thinking about was. . . what if this were to somehow slide below my hips and arse and somehow show up around my feet?. . . I was picturing myself shimmying off the stage in horror with a bra around my ankles.  I probably would have had to abandon the idea of grad school there. . . and would have to join the peace corp or move to Timbuktu to continue my studies.

Luckily, my trusty bum held up the bra! . . . and luckily, I had a gown on to disguise the fact that I had to lumps around my waist.

Awkward. . . yep, I specialize in it. . . and I’ve decided I often create it.

Responses

  1. Oh Hannah, only you! Hilarious!

  2. Pricelss, absolutely priceless. You’re willingness to share these…er, interesting moments, is very special! And, I have to tell you, I haven’t laughed this hard in the last two weeks. Thanks!!

  3. […] Umm. . . read this. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

