Posted by: illinigirl | April 6, 2009

An educational piece for all of you

I’ve been meaning to post this PSA for a while.  I did not know about this as a Northerner (a.k.a. Yankee)–which from where I’m from, I really don’t feel like I’m a Yankee, but I guess I am. . . so whatever.

We were eating dinner one night in Texas, and someone at the table said, “He was as drunk as Cooter Brown”. . . which started the whole conversation:

Who the heck is Cooter Brown???

We had to google it immediately.  Thank GOD for phone internet serving such VITAL purposes.  🙂

Check it out:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cooter_Brown

Next time I am faced with a difficult decision, I’ve learned that one option is to just get drunk and stay that way until things blow over.  Interesting.

Responses

  1. Hate to break it to you, but you are SO not a Yankee!!!!! I know, if you live in the South, but are from the North, you’re considered a Yankee. Most Northerners think Yankees are people in the Northeast, but Northeasterners think Yankees are people in New England, and MOST New Englanders think that Yankees are people who are descended from the Pilgrims or something.

    Yeah. lol

    • I know, right? I don’t think I’m a yankee, but I do hear it occasionally. I think of new englanders as yankees. . .

      My favorite “yankee” comment was when I was telling a friend that I couldn’t find Hostess “ho-hos” anywhere down here, and she said, “Oh, that’s a yankee treat!” Too bad for the southerners (although I did see them once at the kroger up by Jamie’s house earlier this year. . . too bad I just came from home and had my ho-ho fill at the time!)

  2. that’s a new one for me too.

  3. im trying this from now on for pretty much all decisions.

  4. I feel like such a northerner, which cracks me up. But I’ve never heard of this, so thanks for enlightening me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

