Posted by: illinigirl | March 2, 2009

Continuing to help the economy

I’ve been spending large sums of money on plane tickets lately. . . Feb-Home, March-Vegas, April-Home (Easter), May-Italy, June-Home (Tank and Tracy’s wedding), June-STL, etc. . . The other possible trips are Seattle in September and Chicago in October. . . and more trips home I’m sure.  The good news is, flights are quite cheap right now.  🙂

fri-kayakI was thinking about getting a new car. . . but I’ve decided that travel is going to come before a car.  Why?  I don’t like my car, but it runs, and I have no car payment.  I’ve never been much of a car person. . . while I’d like a nicer ride, it doesn’t bother me enough to do anything about it.  When I was kayaking in Lake Tahoe last year, I decided that seeing amazing things with amazing people is way more important to me than a car. . . so I’m still thinking about it, but it’s definitely on the back burner.  Also, seeing as the economy is the the craphole, I’d like to really hold onto my savings in case something bad happens.

I found out that I’m getting a *nice* tax refund though. . . so there are a few things I am considering purchasing. . .

1.  A nicer, MUCH larger TV in my bedroom with a DVD player.  (I know I want to do this.  I’m just too busy to deal with this.)

2.  My computer is *okay*. . . but it is driving me crazy right now.  I think it can be fixed and is only ~2 years old. . . but there are things that are ticking me off that can’t be fixed without spending money.  I’m over it.  As much as I use my features17-hero20090106computer and am a complete nerd, I think it’s worth spending the money.  . .and then I saw a commercial for this during my basketball game on Sunday.  . Please note that I am a PC and NOT a mac. . . I HATE (triple underline) the operating system. . . but I can operate in parallel. . . (Here’s the thing, I’m sad it can’t open up in parallel. . . that could be a pain.–Don’t try and convince me that I’ll love the operating system, it won’t work.)  SARAH–Please play with one tomorrow!  SUSAN–Can you please email me your price or send it to me on facebook?  I might buy one when I’m home. . .

We’ll see. . .

Responses

  1. I’m not really a “car person” either… I got mine from my brother’s old company and its paid off. It’s a grandma car and I’m kinda embarassed to drive it, but hey– no car payment!

    Plus, traveling is soooo much more fun 🙂

  2. i agree, traveling is so much better than a new car.

  3. I drive a 1998 Pontiac Bonneville….it is completely paid off, it runs, it’s roomy enough for the kids, it gets good gas mileage, and it has a sun roof – which to me makes it “cool”.

    Randy however drives a 2007 Ford F-150 that he waxes, buffs, and slobers over every chance he gets.

    Boys are dumb.


Leave a Reply

Categories

