Posted by: illinigirl | February 25, 2009

5k #1

Well, my 5k is in a few days.  I was doing AWESOME. . . until I got sick.

Last week, I came to terms with the fact that I would probably not meet my goal and will have to walk portions of this 5k.  😦

It’s okay though. . . there’s always April. . . by then, hopefully I’ll be ready!

I’m changing up my training.  I was sticking to couch to 5k but only doing 2 workouts at each week level.  Clearly, I would not be able to start at week 4 or 5 (where I was). . . I feel like I’ve taken ten steps back.  Instead of c25k, I’m going to just run to music I love.  I have some songs I’ve downloaded that are really fun, and I’m looking forward to it!

I ran last night and oooooooooooooooooooh yeah, it was awful.  I am behind where I started over a month ago and am in worse shape.  It’s amazing how much being sick takes out of you!

My prediction:  I will walk over 50% of my 5k.  Oh well.  I’m bringing my camera and will try and get some interesting pictures!  🙂

Responses

  1. that happened to me for our thanksgiving 5k. i was horribly sick for maybe 3 weeks before it.
    it was not fun, especially when you were doing so good.

    don’t worry, if you have to walk, you have to walk. there’s always another race. good luck!

  2. I’m right there with you… my progress has been sidetracked due to illness as well, but I’m still gonna run it in April. See you there!!

  3. I too have been sidetracked by illness….I’ve reduced my race to the half-marathon with the hopes that I will do the Chicago Marathon. However, as you are familiar with – the Illini are a little busy in the fall and I don’t know if I will have time to train.

    We all had good intentions….and hey, we’re being active….so that’s good right?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

