Posted by: illinigirl | February 24, 2009

Ashes or Sleeping?

I love Ash Wednesday. . . well, I love Lent, actually.  I just think it’s a great time for reflection.  I’m always ready for it to be OVER and to get to Easter, more upbeat music, Allelujah, etc. . . but I really like Lent.

I do love Ash Wednesday though.  It’s a day where you have a visible outward sign of faith.  I love it when I’m out and about and see people wearing ashes. . . and feel a bond sense of community with them, as different as they may be.  I also love the lyrics of the song “Ashes”. . . and always hope they play it at Mass because it’s not the type of song you’re going to hear any other day!

Okay, so here’s the dumb thing. . . I have to be at work tomorrow night from 11:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m.  Um, yeah, maybe I should come home and sleep instead of getting ashes.  😦  With the way I sleep, I will likely only get a few hours.

We’ll see!

I’m still debating on what my Lenten focus will be and will write about it.  I don’t give things up, but instead I focus on things I can work on to make myself a better person or things I can do for others.  I’m still not sure what I’m doing. . . but I’ll keep you posted in case you’re curious.

(I have been cracking up reading facebook today and what people are contemplating giving up. . . I’ve got one cousin giving up alcohol and one cousin giving up facebook. . . dude, they are hardcore.)
🙂

Responses

  1. Heh, one of my college roomies is giving up FB and she hasn’t cracked. Not even yesterday, when it was her birthday. I gave up sweets/dessert (I have a huuuuge sweet tooth and LOOOOVE Easter Candy) but I didn’t go to get ashes.

    Not to get all preachy, but what I never understood is the part in Matthew 6–16″When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. 17But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, 18so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

    So why do we get ashes then? Hmmmm…


Leave a Reply

Categories

