Posted by: illinigirl | February 15, 2009

Courtney and Danielle

Until I was in 2nd grade, we lived out in the country (kinda), we weren’t that far outside of town, but far enough that we couldn’t ride out bikes into town or anything and didn’t have any kids to play with in our “neighborhood”. . . because we really didn’t have a “neighborhood.  There was kinda just a strip of five or six houses.

Well, I can’t even remember what year it was or what grade I was in (but it had to be the summer before my 2nd grade year, I guess?). . . but we had two little girls from Ohio move into the house next door.  Courtney and Danielle!  Courtney was a year older than me, and Danielle was a year older than my sister.

We were attached at the hip.  Both sets of parents gained two kids. . . (Except that, we usually would split up. . . and Courtney and I would stay at one house and Danielle and Sarah would stay at the other. . . unless we were getting ice cream. . . we all had to go for those trips!)

We rode bikes through a path in the lawn to get to each others’ houses.  We would play outside, play on the computer, play in our rooms, whatever.

Dad telling us scary stories! (Dani, Sar, Court & I)

Dad telling us scary stories! (Dani, Sar, Court & I)

My family moved sometime in 2nd grade. . . but this was not the end of fun times with Courtney and Danielle.  First off, we went to the same tiny Catholic grade school so we saw them every day there, and we still got together a lot, even after we moved.

At Chuck-e-Cheese for Sars bday (me, Danielle, Sar, Rebecca, Joanna, & Court)

At Chuck-e-Cheese for Sar's bday (me, Sar, Danielle, Rebecca, Joanna, & Court)

Some of my favorite memories. . .

  • Playing “People’s Court”. . . I was certain Courtney was going to be a lawyer.  She was so good and so dang creative at that!
  • Dancing with them to LaBamba and Dirty Dancing Soundtracks and making up dance routines.
  • Having water balloon fights with enough balloons for a small army as Sarah’s birthday tradition.
We started all small the first year with a wagon-full

We started all small the first year with a wagon-full

The next year we moved to a swimming pool full of them!

The next year we moved to a swimming pool full of them!

Sarah and Danielle

Sarah and Danielle

Sar. . . always dramatic!  Actually, I think she may have been fake crying that the balloons were gone!

Sar. . . always dramatic! Actually, I think she may have been fake crying that the balloons were gone!

Me. . . We would stand under trees sometimes and hit the trees to give each other a shower

Me. . . We would stand under trees sometimes and hit the trees to give each other a shower

)

SUPERMODELS! My fav picture in the bunch!!! 🙂

  • Swimming in their pool.
  • Playing board games. . . we loved “Ready, Set, Spaghetti” even when we were super old for it. . . and Taboo.  That was really fun.  We always paired off with Courtney/Sarah and Me/Danielle, no idea why.
  • Watching “Karate Kid” and other such 80’s movies a million times.

We were good friends through grade school, and then in 1993 or 1994 (?) Courtney and Danielle moved back to Ohio.  It was DEV-I-STAT-ING at the time.  Courtney and I wrote letters every day, and she sounded so sad.  I just felt terrible for her, as I couldn’t imagine moving in high school.  Over time though, the letters tapered off, and I was happy to hear that she had plenty of friends and was settling in.  My family came to her graduation party in high school and she came to my graduation party. . . and other than one other time she came back in college, I’m pretty sure that was the last time I saw her. . . but we’ve stayed in touch with the occasional email.  Sadly, I couldn’t go to her wedding.  😦  But now she is married and has a cute baby girl!

What inspired me to write this entry?  Danielle found my sis on facebook this week. . . and Courtney joined, too. . . and it makes me nostalgic.  🙂  There’s something so fun about childhood friends. . . and I’m thankful that we’re still in touch!

Courtney sent this in the mail once when we were younger (blacked out are last names), and I found this last week. . . pretty funny. . . and luckily true!

Responses

  1. I can’t believe you still have all those pics. I remember all that stuff! & don’t forget the baseball bat in the head soon after we moved into town. Couldnt have had better childhood friends!

  2. Love the supermodel picture! I am also sad that me getting hit in the head with a baseball bat was not mentioned. Good times!

  3. OMG – This is outstanding! I remember babysitting all of you! All equally ornery and equally fun!

    Great pics! ; )

  4. Those pics are priceless!!!! It’s funny, I actually drove past their old house the other day and thought about them. I will have to steal them off of your facebook 😉 I have lots of pictures like that leftover from when we were little that I am so thankful I have. Pics from my birthdays, pool parties, St. T. programs and such. Even a video of us dancing to “It’s a Hard Knock Life” in like 1st or 2nd grade. I don’t remember if it was your class or the class after us that performed that with us. Either way, memories like that are so fun to have and I am so thankful to have stuff like that to look back on.

  5. I’ve already stolen Danielle from FB, but now I have to go look for Courtney. I can’t believe how long it’s been since they’ve been gone…


Leave a Reply

Categories

