Posted by: illinigirl | January 26, 2009

Massage dilemma

Yes, it’s quite ridiculous that my biggest current dilemma is about massages. . . but hey, it is what it is.

Apparently, I don’t relax well. . . SHOCK, I know.

I am constantly tensing up and then hurting my neck.  I used to hurt my neck 4-5 times a year.  Doesn’t sound too bad. . . BUT when you are miserable for 3-4 days and having to come home and ice/heat it every night with each episode. . . not so fun.  Let’s not even talk about how scary it is to drive in a city when you can’t turn your head!  I think running makes this worse. . . as I tense up when I run, and my shoulders hurt so badly by the time I’m done.  I try to be conscious of this, but it’s clearly not working.

Anyhowswers, last year I had my first massage.  It was pretty great. . . so I signed up for a club to get one each month at a discounted price.

I went often in the beginning.  I think I’ve had ~6 massages.  All the therapists were good. . . but two of the people, I will never have again due to wanting to TALK the entire time about MY JOB.  (Okay, I don’t want you to talk period. . . but a good tip for a massage therapist would be to never talk with someone about their job.  I don’t care how cool you might think my job is. . . I really don’t wanna think about it right now, thanks!)

So I was really good about going in the beginning. . . but I got busy, and now I have five massages built up!  They told me I could use two at a time with a TWO HOUR massage, which is awesome.  I am going for two hours next Saturday afternoon. . . and the lady was was available for two hours is also the one that relaxed me so much last time that I fell ASLEEP!  Yes, not good. . . because that’s an expensive nap. . . but it was only for a few minutes, and I was soooo relaxed.

But. . . for the future. . .

I’m thinking of canceling my membership.

The membership is good because. . .

  • It’s relaxing.
  • It’s right by my house and takes me ~2 min. to drive there.
  • I have only hurt my neck once in the past year (okay, twice, but one time was when a guy rear-ended me so that doesn’t count).
  • It’s at a ~$20 reduced price/massage.

It’s bad because. . .

  • It’s not that much money every month. . . but when you add up a year, it’s kind of a lot.
  • Should I really be spending that much money?

I’m thinking of sticking with the membership because otherwise I will never go. . . and I think it is good for me.  I don’t sleep well, clench my jaw a lot, grind my teeth at night, etc. . . clearly, I need to relax.

I need to decide soon.  It might honestly be too late because I have to apparently cancel 30 days in advance in writing. . . jigga WHAT. . . If it’s too late, it’s too late. . . but I need to decide.

Responses

  1. That’s a tough one…I totally understand being torn between saving the money and doing something that you enjoy and is good for you!

    Sorry I’m no help.

  2. Ok, let’s think this through. Other than talkative therapists, you love them and they help you relax and avoid neck problems. And, it’s $ out of pocket.

    1. You can deal with the talkative issue. Just decide who you want, and schedule a little in advance.
    2. Ok, it costs you something. But come on, you have a whole life ahead of you to make money. I am a firm believer that when you work hard…and you do…you also need to treat yourself. In the grand scale of things, and given the fact that a massage helps to relax you, it really is a pretty cheap pleasure. Not to mention that you will be very thankful 30 years from now if you avoid neck injuries. Some people play golf, some bowl, play cards etc. to relax. You get a massage.

    I’d keep going if I were you.

    Side note. A 2 hour massage may be a bit much. There is only so much your muscles can take. Try it, but be prepared to go back to an hour.

  3. if i could find the time to have a monthly massage, i would in a heartbeat.

  4. You can never go wrong listening to Pat! go for it…

  5. I see you’ve already decided, but I want to address the fact that the woman was talking to you about your job–

    There have been MULTIPLE times I’ve had to tell people I’d rather not talk–on planes, in cabs, getting a massage/pedicure/whatever. And it has been fine.

    You don’t have to be mean, just a simple “I’d rather have my massage in silence” is enough. People are usually responsive.


Leave a Reply

Categories

