Posted by: illinigirl | January 20, 2009

Feelings of the day

As proud I am of how far we’ve come as a country by what’s happening today. . . I know we have a HELL of a long way to go.

As you may know from my “none of the above” post. . . I was not enamored with either candidate.  I think I was less enamored with JM because I just don’t agree with as much of the republican policies. . . and DON’T even get me started on SP.

Also, don’t get me started on the costs of the inauguration stuff.  I did a whole entry on it, but I’m tired of ranting.  I’ll just let you *read my mind* about how I feel that there are areas south of me where residents still have no running water after the hurricane came through in September, and we are spending $150 million on the inauguration. . .

While I don’t believe BO will solve all the world’s problems. . . I think he does have some great things going in his favor.  I think he has some major challenges on his plate right now, and my prayers are with him.  I wouldn’t wish his job on my worst enemy!  I will not poo-poo on everyone’s idealism.  We need some positive energy in this country.

My friend Siobhan sent out the lyrics to a song played before he was sworn in. . . and she played this song at her wedding.  The lyrics are really really beautiful, and gave me goosebumps to read again:

‘Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free,

‘Tis the gift to come down where you ought to be,

And when we find ourselves in the place just right,

‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.

When true simplicity is gain’d,

To bow and to bend we shan’t be asham’d,

To turn, turn will be our delight,

Till by turning, turning we come round right.


‘Tis the gift to be loved and that love to return,

‘Tis the gift to be taught and a richer gift to learn,

And when we expect of others what we try to live each day,

Then we’ll all live together and we’ll all learn to say,

(refrain)

‘Tis the gift to have friends and a true friend to be,

‘Tis the gift to think of others not to only think of “me”,

And when we hear what others really think and really feel,

Then we’ll all live together with a love that is real.

-Elder Joseph Brackett

I think these words are awesome no matter what side of the fence you are on. . . if we all do our part in our corners, there is no question that the world will be a better place. . .

Responses

  1. I kinda hate it that his initials are BO.

    I realize that’s not the point of this post, but it made me giggle.

    Go America!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

