Posted by: illinigirl | December 14, 2008

A Merry Celebration

As you know, I have been in a poopy mood lately.  I tried to take a break from poopiness and get in the Christmas spirit a little this weekend.

What could be better for doing that than a Christmas bar crawl?

I did a blog for this last year on myspace as that was my first such holiday adventure. . . I must say that this year, I drank a lot less. . . Mainly because I simply didn’t feel up to it.  I started like a champ, but after bar two, I was already feeling yucky. . . and that was far too early.  After I ate at bar five, I felt even yuckier. . . I rallied slightly later, but I definitely didn’t drink to my potential. . . BUT that’s okay because I had fun, felt fantastic this morning, and had no issues making it to church early this morning!  🙂

Each year, I have to take a picture at each bar. . . although last night, I accidentally deleted a great picture when I was a little tipsy.  DANGIT. . . so there will only be ELEVEN pictures from bars featured. . .

Bar 1  (the earlybirds. . . this crawl starts at 5:00 p.m. because there’s a lot of ground to cover!):

Bar 2 (for the record, I WAS wearing a bra and underwear. . . I just thought this was a kodak moment):

Bar 3 (this was a bar of a restaurant, and the patrons had to be ready for us to LEAVE!. . . especially as we *loudly* sang Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer as we left):

Bar 4 (We always pose with Jack at this bar. . . although my newly aquired antlers are blocking him):

Bar 5 (FOOD was procured!):

Bar 6 (Thanks to the gentleman on the left *not with our group*. . . I talked to him the entire time we were at this bar, and he came up with the dancing on the table idea or this bar. . . however, he was disappointed I wouldn’t get all the way on top of the table. . . sorry, didn’t have nearly enough to drink to do that!–Look at Katie’s face!)

Bar 7 (Image not available. . . this is the one of me, Doug, and Blair that I deleted.  DANGIT!).

Bar 8 (Me admiring Jeff’s bling and showing off my 18 chins):

Bar 9 (This bar had a private party there so we didn’t go in.  Jeff and I did our now traditional thumbs down.  David gave me a 2nd pair of antlers, apparently!)

Bar 10 (I am not sure why David and I seem to be looking the other way???):

Bar 11 (This is a shot bar. . . please note, I do not do shots.  I did however do one at this bar.  When in Rome. . . )

Bar 12 (This was awesome.  The bar crawl was all kinds of screwed up at this point.  We went out of order earlier, and the shot bar was supposed to be last. . . but I HATED the shot bar because it was crowded, crazy madness.  A few of us decided to leave and go to a bar that just might be my favorite on the crawl. . . and something magical happened.  We ran into another bar crawl that was even more amazing than ours. . . a SANTA barcrawl.  Imagine that ten santas walk in a bar. . . and then more, and more, and more. . . and pretty soon, there are like 50-60 santas in the bar.  It was impressive, to say the least.  Jeff andI gave the ringleaders our business cards so we can get in on their crawl next year.  Here’s me with just a few of the many, many Santas!)

Here was the scene leaving that bar and heading home. . . Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

🙂

Responses

  1. i love that 2nd to last picture. that’s the best one! if i did a pub crawl, i would pass out at the 2nd bar. sad.

  2. I agree. That picture is definitely frame-worthy (or at least Christmas newsletter-worthy).

    I remember you talking about the 12 bars of Christmas last year. What a great idea!

  3. Doing a bar crawl with everyone dressed as Santa?? Brilliant!! Why didn’t I think of something like that!! I tried to get a bunch of people together to do an ugly Christmas sweater bar crawl, but no one would go for it!! Glad you had a good time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

