Posted by: illinigirl | December 3, 2008

Getting to Know You. . . The Christmas Edition

My Aunt Amy C. sent me this via email. . . and I thought it would be fun to do in my blog. . .

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? wrapping paper

2. Real tree or artificial?  Artificial . . . Two artificials, actually!

This is as festive as I get, folks!

This is as festive as I get, folks!

3. When do you put up the tree?  Whenever I can squeeze in time between traveling!

4. When do you take the tree down?   Whenever I can squeeze in time between traveling!

5. Do you like Eggnog?  Nope

6. Favorite gift received as a child?  This is difficult. . . probably our first computer (Commodore 64!)

7. Hardest person to buy for?  I don’t have anyone on my list that’s very challenging. . .

8. Easiest person to buy for?    Mom/Sarah

9. Do you have a nativity scene?  Yep!  My senior year of college, I drew names with my three roommates.  Jess got me, and gave me my nativity scene. . . which I love!  (But I need to buy or make a background for this because everyone is just standing in the middle of nowhere.)  🙂

10. Mail or email Christmas cards?    Mail, of course

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?  Nothing comes to mind here!

12. Favorite Christmas movie?  Don’t hate me for saying, “Christmas Vacation”. . . my family quotes it all the time this time of year.  “You serious, Clark?”

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?   Whenever I can squeeze in time between travel (sensing a theme?)

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?  Not that I can remember.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?  I am a huge fan of our Christmas Eve soup suppers at Gma and Gpa C’s. . . The soups are so good and great in cold weather!

16. Lights on the tree?  Yep!  Pre-lit!

17. Favorite Christmas song?   “O Holy Night” I think Martina McBride’s version is my favorite. . . but I like pretty much anyone singing this song!  My friend Kari Warfel Higgins always did an amazing job singing this in church each year!

18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?  Travel to good ol’ Illinois

19. Can you name all Santa’s reindeer? Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Doner,Blitzen, Rudolph  Yep!

20. Angel on the tree top or Star?   None of the above.

21. Open presents Christmas Eve or morning? Eve. . . Santa always came in the early evening while we were eating soup at Gma and Gpa’s! (and still does)

22. Most annoying thing about this time of year?  The fact that I cannot drive within 5 miles of the Galleria area without getting stuck on the streets and NOT moving for hours.

23. Favorite ornament?   Um, I don’t have any hanging up. . . and am drawing a blank on what I have, as I never hang them up!

24. Favorite Christmas dinner?  I think I could just eat noodles for dinner and be happy.

25. Favorite Christmas cocktail?  How about some champagne on Christmas Eve? My sis and I are big fans!

26. What do you want for Christmas this year?  A gps device and world peace.

27. What don’t you want for Christmas this year?  The flu

28. What is something you have never done that you want to do for Christmas?   Ummm. . . drink beer with my inflatable husband (that my sister and cousin Jeff were so kind to give me)?  OH WAIT!  That’s been done.

Responses

  1. I did this last year! Here it is…

    http://heresthediehl.wordpress.com/2007/12/04/getting-to-know-me-the-christmas-edition/

    It’s pretty similar.

    Loved your answers, of course! The hubs is a cutie. So manly with all that chest hair.

    I am really wanting a nativity set like that Willow Tree one you have: my mom had the whole set, and my 2 SILs got the starter set for their weddings from my parents. I need to remember that for next year’s list!

    Oh, and I’m getting a GPS this year from my dad. We can’t wait to try it out.

  2. How fun, Nicole! I didn’t remember that you did this last year!!! I guess there’s been a lot of blogging since then!

    I need to do a whole blog topic re: my husband and the whole tradition my family has of gag gifts each year. I *might* have done this on my old blog, but I don’t think I’ve ever talked about it here. My family is quite entertaining!

    Yeah, my sis and mom both ended up getting Willow Tree nativities, too! We expanded mom’s collection and bought her more pieces on ebay last year.

    Maybe if my sister *wink* does not have an idea for me, she could get me the stars or the creche??? I am not sure how much they cost, but that’s an idea if you need one. If not, maybe that will be my grandma c. present. Let’s discuss.

    My mom officially ordered the GPS for me this weekend! I kept telling myself I didn’t need it. . . but after several frustrating directional issues lately (and driving around the nightmare that is DALLAS). . . I thought this would be a good thing for me.

  3. so…what’s his name?

    eric got a garmin nuvi last year – maybe for xmas. i didn’t think he’d really use it but he does. my dad loves his so much he’ll ask for directions to our house from his (even though he’s been here 1 gazillion times). when kenny was younger he’d always call it the lady in the box. he’d tell my dad to make her mad (by going the wrong way) so she’d have to recalculate.

  4. Is your house on fire, Clark? Don’t throw me down Clark. Is Rusty still in the Navy? When did you move to Florida? Ellen, are you still dating Clark? This house is bigger than your old one….

    LOVE THAT MOVIE!!! Definitely one of my holiday faves too!!! Oh, and as far as holiday traditions go, my family has one too! My mom bought soap on a rope from Avon for all the guys in the family one year, and the guys got such a kick out of it and made so many jokes about it, it’s an every year thing. And we all take turns opening our presents. And when we all open our presents, everyone else cheers for what you got. You opened a sweater . . everyone cheers like you’re at a basketball game “She got a SWEATER!!!! WOOOO!!!” . . . Clapping, whistling . . . yep, we are strange. The guys always pull the soap on a rope out and swing it around like they are holding one of those spirit stick things from the basketball games. It cracks me up. Ahh, the joys of Christmas 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

