Posted by: illinigirl | November 25, 2008

Bucket o’ randomness

I am very stressed these days.  That is precisely why I deserve to stop by starbucks every day possible on the way to work for a pumpkin spice latte.  ‘Tis the season!

I got TWO (2) pumpkin spice lattes on Friday thanks to Stuart and Jen who stopped on the way to my house before we went out to the Greek Festival.  “Coffee before wine, feelin’ fine.” . . . or something?  Ha!  Yeah, I’ve never done that combo before.  It was chilly, and we were outside. . . it was perfect!

I will blog about Greek Festival eventually when I have time. . . oh and Jen, don’t forget to send pics so I can include those!  (I left my memory stick of my camera at HOME. . . DOH!)

Our stockings for our soldiers are AWESOME. . . many thanks to Jamie!

My soldier sent me a great letter tonight!  I think we are finally making some connections and finding things we have in common. . . just in time for him to come home!  Oh well.  Lessons learned.

I’ve been getting some great “real” mail lately. . . and then Christmas card/picture season is right around the corner.  How exciting.

My friends rock.  Seriously.  They are unbeatable. . . and stubborn.  Jamie is insisting taking me to the airport at 6:00 a.m. on Wednesday, despite the fact that she doesn’t have to be at work until 9:00 a.m.! She is also letting me park at her house for Thanksgiving and Christmas so I can avoid the crappiness of holiday airport parking MADNESS.  This alleviates much stress.  🙂

I get to go to dinner with Jamie, her brand spankin’ new fiance’ Travis, and our friend Ryan tomorrow night at our favorite little strip mall Italian place.  Yes, that is not an appealing intro, but this place is awesome, inexpensive, and I LOVE the lobster ravioli.  I am excited to see Ryan, as we used to hang out all the time, and he stayed at my place for three weeks when he first moved here. . . and I NEVER see him anymore.  Our schedules just don’t jive. . . Can’t wait to catch up!

I am got an invite for a party in December hosted by a girl I volunteer with.  I am really excited, as we haven’t hung out together other than at the House, but I have a great time with her.  This was a benefit to volunteering that I didn’t really consider when I signed up. . . making friends with fellow volunteers!

Pat, I saw the imagined pterodactyl IN REAL LIFE outside on my patio this morning.  This one was NOT imagined. . .  Yes, as I was leaving my house, there was this huge, nasty, unknown bug.  It resembled a bat.  I locked my door and RAN to my car.  I got in. . . but decided I didn’t want to think about this thing still being there when I got back. . . so I grabbed some wasp and hornet spray and nailed it. . . and RAN back in my car.  (Even though it was not there, I still RAN into my house tonight. . . and probably will again in the morning.)  Husband. . . where aaaare yooooou?  I need help with this crap!

I have spent more time than I am willing to admit stalking searching for mr. gorgeous.  I just don’t have quite enough info.  As the wise queenlizzle pointed out. . . with so many technical advances, there is sometimes too much info to sort through online.  Also, my city is far too big to stalk find people via social networking sites with limited info.

I think I can have no heat OR a/c on the entire time I’m back home.  This is exciting.  I’ve basically been keeping stuff off, and turning on the air a smidgin at night.

Tomorrow is my last day working with some very special co-workers who are retiring.  I need to do a whole blog on that.  *tear*  Yes, I am tearing up just thinking about it so we’ll see how I do tomorrow.

Responses

  1. i’m a fan of the caramel apple cidars…yum.

    if i lived in houston, i would let you borrow eric to kill that creature. i lend him to my neighbor/friend all the time:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

