Posted by: illinigirl | November 17, 2008

Question. . .

As you all are so good at audience participation, I have another question.  🙂

Jamie and I are stuffing stockings for soldiers.  I’ve picked up a few things, and Jamie’s going to pick up some things.  I really want our stuff to be awesome and stuff they would like.  Here’s my question. . . I know that my adopted soldier tends to have access to the internet in Iraq.  Do you all know people over there and know if it’s common for those that you know?  Angela?  Anyone?

I wanted to get them itunes gift cards because I would personally love this. . . but I’m not sure if that’s dumb or not under the circumstances.

I’m doing this through adopt-a-platoon. . . While the email I got was looking for current supporters (people that already have soldiers) to participate, they may have things for people that aren’t yet affiliated.  My only wish is that they would have sent the email EARLIER. . . as I would have been able to get a lot of participation, and would have hosted a party at my house or something to assemble.  Maybe next year.  Also, I have a feeling I’m going to go way overboard in spending. . . but that’s okay because it’s a good cause.

They must have many more soldiers than people to adopt them. . . as they sent out a plea for us to adopt additional soldiers.  I have not signed up for this because I suck at supporting my current soldier.  Maybe I will adopt another one after the start of the new year. . . when my current soldier is almost finished.

Please check out this neat organization.  One of the quotes in the email they sent really got to me and made me want to do the stocking campaign. . .

There are soldiers here who only receive morale support from AdoptaPlatoon. If you don’t think you make a large impact on soldiers over here serving in harm’s way, I strongly suggest you reconsider. You make, in some cases, ALL THE DIFFERENCE! From a U.S. Army Soldier serving in Iraq.

Responses

  1. Good for you – you are always doing nice things for others 🙂 I got an email recently with another idea: When doing your Christmas cards this year, take one card and send it to this address.

    A Recovering American Soldier
    c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center
    6900 Georgia Avenue,NW
    Washington , D.C. 20307-5001

    If we pass this on and everyone sends one card, think of how many cards these wonderful special people who have sacrificed so much would get.

  2. Yay Lisa! What a great idea! Thanks for sharing! I will send a card, for sure!

    I thought about sending a newsletter in my stockings in case the soldiers wanted to know more about me. . . but I wondered if they would really want to read about some girl galavanting around the country, drinking beer, sipping champagne, going to weddings, and two-stepping her way through life while they are in Iraq. This is something that I struggle with my soldier. . . I’m always struggling with what to write because I don’t know that he would appreciate hearing about all the fun I’m having. Maybe that’s dumb. . . but it’s something I think about!

    OH ALSO, let me give another shoutout to Jamie. . . when I told her about this, she immediately said she wanted to help despite pinching pennies for an upcoming wedding. She wins the “stellar person of the day” award! 😀

  3. that’s awesome that you do that. i was going to do it earlier this year but we have a few friends in iran/djibouti so we’ve been sending stuff to them instead.

  4. Yes – my soldier has access to the internet and my nephew does too when he’s over there. So iTunes cards are a great idea.

    I would say that anything you send is going to be useful. I always include various cards in my soldiers packages so that he can send his wife and children cards for their birthdays, anniversaries, etc.

    I love this organization – we love our soldier and it’s something that the boys really have gotten into.

    Thanks Han!


Leave a Reply

Categories

