Posted by: illinigirl | November 9, 2008

Church Lesson

I have to admit that as someone that thought she had a fair amount of knowledge about the Catholic church, I learned something today very significant to the church that I never, ever knew.

Today is the feast of the dedication of the Basilica of St. John Lateran in Rome.  What I didn’t know is that this is the most important and the mother church for my faith.  Whoa.  I guess I always heard about St. Peter’s Basilica and always made the assumption that it was the main church for the Vatican.  Wrong, wrong.

The Basilica of St. John Lateran was originally a palace for a senator. . . after the senator converted to Catholisism, his family was martyred and his property seized.  In 313, it was converted to a church.  My priest shared this info today, but you can get more info here if you are interested:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Basilica_of_St._John_Lateran.

The pictures are SO BREATHTAKING.  Looking at the churches may be my favorite thing about Europe.  This gentleman on flckr (ern) has been kind enough to share his pictures such as the one below.  Check out his flickr site at: http://www.flickr.com/photos/ern/50641235/  to see more.  They are just incredible.  Thank you, ern!

800px-roma-san_giovanni03

The pictures are absolutely amazing.  I am hoping that someday soon, I will get to see some of these places for myself!  (Rome is #1 on my list for places I want to go!)

Responses

  1. me too. i want to go to a mass there so bad.

  2. Make that two of us…I was at Mass on Saturday night and learned something new myself!! I wouldn’t have learned this, had I not gone to a Roman Mass that night. (We usually go to DH’s church, which is Byzantine Rite.)

  3. There was an article in the local paper this week about the church in Pesotum (http://www.news-gazette.com/entertainment/2008/11/10/stopping_by_pesotums_cathedral_on_the_prairie_a_gothic_gem). I thought you might find it interesting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

