Posted by: illinigirl | November 9, 2008

Bad News

I am finally at a place where I can blog about this even if I still can’t talk about it much without getting emotional.

We got official results a few weeks ago that my grandpa W. does indeed have Lou Gehrig’s Disease (ALS).  Nope, there’s not a cure, and there’s nothing much you can really do.

Even though we thought this may be the answer after some additional tests when he was getting worse rather than better after surgery. . .  it didn’t really make it any easier to take the news.  Please keep my grandpa, grandma, and all my family in your prayers. . . there’s lots of hard work for my grandma, my mom, etc. ahead. . .

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this… thoughts, prayers, good vibes to everyone.

    You have a strong family and I know you’ll all make the best of this horrible situation.

  2. i’m so sorry. we’ll say a prayer for him and the rest of your family.

  3. i’m so sorry to hear this news, hannah. we’ll be praying for him and for you.

  4. Many prayers are headed your way. Take care!

  5. so sorry to hear this. my coworker’s father has als and i know it’s very tough. we are keeping you and your family in our thoughts and prayers. let us know if there is anything we can do.

  6. I am so very sorry to hear this. Thoughts and many prayers headed toward gp, you and the whole family.

  7. Oh no, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ll be thinking of you and your family and praying for you guys! *hugs*

  8. Thanks everyone. . . I appreciate your support.

  9. Many prayers for you and the family. My grandma passed away about 9 years ago from ALS. If you ever have any questions or just want to talk to someone that has gone through the experience, just let me know.

  10. In case you don’t know kirksonya, I was originally Sonya until I started a blog. I’m a friend of Nicole’s that had commented before!

  11. Hey Han,

    I’m a little behind on your blog. I’m so sorry to hear about your grandpa! Of course, you and your fam are in our prayers… Keep your chin up buddy…

  12. I’m so sorry to hear this. My mom actually told me last week and I kept meaning to let you know that we are all thinking about and praying for your family.


Leave a Reply

Categories

