Posted by: illinigirl | October 26, 2008

Grandy’s Lovin’

Back from Dallas!

It was a fun, yet odd trip. . . my sister and I felt kinda crappy and EXCEPTIONALLY tired most of the weekend, so we didn’t get too wild and crazy. . . and didn’t plan much. . . so it was just random.  That being said, we still had fun!  I will do a more lengthy post telling you about all that we did. . . but seeing as that will take TIME, and I’m exhausted after driving for 4 1/2 hours. . . I will be posting about one of the highlights of our trip first:

GRANDY’S!!!

My sister and I LOVE Grandy’s. . . for those of you that sadly do not know. . . it is a fried chicken chain with AMAZING rolls and tasty mashed potatoes and vegetables (oh, also. . . good cinnamon rolls).

There were two Grandy’s in the C-U area. . . and they closed.  I think they closed two(?) years ago.  My sister and I were sooooo disappointed.  While not the healthiest alternative. . . so flippin’ good.

So. . . on Friday night Sar and I were driving. . . and I saw Grandy’s, and said, “Look Sar!  Grandy’s!!!”. . . to which she started freaking out.  Yes, we were excited.  We probably scared our fellow passengers.  We immediately made plans to go there the next day.

Yes, people. . . we are all about the class.  This Grandy’s was attached to a gas station.  Beggars can’t be choosers! 

Here’s Sar enjoying her leg and roll. . .

Here’s me with some mashed potatoes. . .

See?  I told you this trip was random. . . All of our other meals were considerably fancier and pricier. . . and none involved anything attached to a gas station.

But honestly. . . you can’t put a price on fried chicken goodness.

Responses

  1. Personally, I prefer the Chicken Fried steak from Grandy’s. And rolls with honey… I definitely miss the rolls. I’m sooo jealous!

  2. i’ve never even heard of grandy’s. when i think of dallas, i think of whataburger.

  3. Mmmmm, Grandy’s. I miss it so much. We live really close to the last one that closed and it was a God send, now it’s gone. I’m definitely jealous!

  4. Hello Illini_girl! Your blog made it to Grandy’s corporate office in Lewisville, TX. I must say we all enjoyed reading your blog and plan on sharing your experience with others throughout the chain.

    We have our annual Grandy’s convention coming up next month, so we think that would be a perfect time to pass along your comments. Thank you for being such a loyal customer. I would very much be interested in learning more about where you are currently located in reference to a nearby Grandy’s so I could send you something. You can email me at *******@grandys.com or call me directly at 972 434-****. Thanks again for making our day!

    Vivien Horton
    Director of Human Resources
    Grandy’s

  5. I’m so JEALOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I haven’t had some Grandy’s in like 5 years and I’ve been to dang near every state….I gotta agree that you gotta do it right and go with the chicken fried steak with the mashed taters and gravy on top.


Leave a Reply

Categories

